We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff -great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great staff -great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had booked this Hyatt using my points from their loyalty program. We arrived early -just before 1pm -apparently having missed the traffic in LA (shocker!). The lady at the front desk checked via phone directly with housekeeping to see if our room was ready but alas it was not. She offered to store our luggage while we explored the town. We caught the waterfront shuttle (stop is right in front of Bistro) for 50c and rode ~ 1mile to State Street. From there, we wandered around Funk Zone and visited wineries on the Urban Wine Trail. We ate both lunch and dinner at different restaurants in the area that had been recommended by the friendly concierge from the Hyatt. Once we returned from dinner, we had a pleasant surprise-we had been upgraded to an ocean-front room (we had booked an “mountain view” with the points). Room was spacious and the bed was just perfect (not too firm, not too soft). The bathroom was nice and had been updated and even offered a magnifying “make-up” mirror by the sink. However, there was no shelving around the pedestal sink to actually set your toiletries down. There were shelves in the water closet but that (too far from the make-up mirror to be useful). Oceanfront was great but there was some noise from the street until very late.
Hyatt continues to impress me with their customer service. We received an “bookend” emails from the manager prior to arrival to inform us of the activities planned for weekend and another a few days after our stay to thank us for our business. Staff was pleasant, welcoming and seemed genuinely glad to assist us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    142
    127
    64
    34
See reviews for
149
185
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Plus: Good rooms Good location (about 1 mile from state street; walkable) Across the street from a beach Minus: Unrefined staff (for the price of this hotel) A/C Unit in the rooms is very load. Not an issue if you can open the windows at night but if there is wedding party below your room good luck sleeping. For $500/night I expect refined staff (as a base line). While the rooms were okay, the staff did not hit the bar. When we asked someone if they were the concierge they said no and took us to the front desk. We asked if they could recommend hikes and the answer we got was "I'm new to the area." When ordering breakfast, the waiter spoke english but i could not understand what exactly he was saying and it was not being said in such a way that I could figure out costs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello. Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our location and your room, I will share your kind comments with our housekeeping staff. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have shared your comments with the department managers responsible for the areas mentioned so that we can provide the appropriate team members with the proper re training as we move forward. Thank you very much for sharing. I truly hope that you visit us again next time your travels bring you to Santa Barbara. With warm regards, Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We love this hotel. Visiting Santa Barbara is a treat in itself, but if you're able to stay at this hotel, you won't be disappointed. It's directly across from the beach and within couple minutes walk to the SB zoo. You can rent bikes and ride to the pier within 10 minutes with all the kids on board. Honestly, we love this hotel and consider it a treat when we hop in the car to visit our SB family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

this is a first rate hotel with excellent and friendly service. it is centrally located. the room was very clean and quiet. it also had a balcony overlooking the ocean...spectacular view. the breakfast buffet was fabulous. definitely get the pancakes!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoy our hotel when in Santa Barbara, thank you very much for your loyalty and support! I will be sharing your kind comments and recognition with the team members as I see them over the course of this week. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit. With warm regards, Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I'm in Santa Barbara 4 - 5 times a year on business. I've stayed downtown but prefer the Hyatt. It's a little quirky the way the buildings are spread out and I'm not crazy about the new parking policy but the rooms are good sized and I enjoy the view of the beach and Pacific. The staff is nice and always helpful.

Room Tip: You want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that our team members make you feel appreciated by being nice and helpful. And thank you for making our hotel your preferred location during your visits to Santa Barbara, I will certainly share your review with our team members as your complete satisfaction is very important to us all. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. At your service, Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Updated hotel in a Great location. Friendly staff and very clean rooms. Comfortable beds and nice linens. Easy beach access and views of hillside. Great location for beach lovers. Nice warm pool if ocean is too cold.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings. Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I sincerely appreciate your mention about our team members' friendliness and about the cleanliness of your room. I will share your comments with them as I attend their stand up meetings this week. Thank you very much for the recognition. From all of us at the Hyatt, thank you for making our hotel your home away from home during your most recent visit to Santa Barbara and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I spent several days at the Hyatt. I was in Suite 302 with a great view of the beach. This is a charming hotel that has been refurbished/upgraded. The staff is happy, friendly and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.