We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night in Santa Barbara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #28 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good night in Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was clean and large. We stayed in an ocean front room which had a partial ocean view. There are nice trees in front of the hotel, and they block some of the view. The grounds of the hotel are pretty. We were invited to a free happy hour at the hotel, where they offered wine, beer and appetizers. The hotel staff is very friendly and offered lots of suggestions on places to eat and see. You had to valet the car to park onsite but that is not uncommon in a city. The valets were very quick. Overall a good place to stay by the beach!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    41
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
40
59
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff was absolutely amazing, the rooms were very clean and the beds were like sleeping on clouds. I will stay here every time I come to Sanata Barbara! We had over 10 different rooms for our extended family that came in for my lil brothers wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Greetings. Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Santa Barbara for your brother's wedding. Thank you very much for staying with us during such important date, we all appreciate it here at the hotel. I hope to welcome you back soon and thank you again for your participation. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a good night stay @ Hyatt Santa Barbara. There is free coffee in the morning and Luis, the front desk manager made us feel special on our anniversary with a bottle of wine. The rooms are a little dated and very noisy, but that is no fault of the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Plenty of street parking. No need to pay for valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello. Thank you very much for sharing your review. Happy Anniversary!!! I am glad we were part of it and that Luis was involved with the celebration amenity. Thank you very much for your recognition, Luis was happy to see that you mentioned him and his efforts in making your stay a pleasant experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was our last stop in California, and I can say that although the location is excellent and the room is very clean and well kept, the hotel has some annoying things that really made our stay a bit worse than it needed to be.
1. You cant park on hotel property, if you want to do so you must use the valet service which costs around 25 bucks
2. No free internet on the rooms. This is the first hotel in our trip which doesnt offer free internet.
3. Housekeeping at 8:30am. Someone woke us up at 8:30...! Unbelievable.
4. The air conditioner was very old and noisy.
The location is awesome, right in front of the east beach, but like I said, I think the hotel could be a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello. Thank you so very much for your review. I am glad the location of our hotel and out cleanliness and condition were to your satisfaction, thank you very much for your recognition. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with parking and internet fees and for our housekeeping department knocking on your door in the morning, I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping so that the necessary improvement is made going forward. I have also shared your comments with our Chief Engineer so that the AC units receive all the attention they need in an effort to keep them running as quietly as possible. Thank you for your valuable feedback! I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to California. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This older well kept hotel in the heart of Santa Barbara is beautiful and full of spanish architecture and endless ocean views from the rooms, pool, and restaurant. The service staff are very friendly and accommodating. Although an older hotel it is well maintained and very clean. The pool was enjoyable during the day and evening with a fire pit overlooking the ocean. Room service and the in house restaurant were great, the food was excellent and had options for those of us with allergies. A fabulous hotel for our family being directly across from the beach and close to all the fun Santa Barbara has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello, thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to share your kind words of recognition with the appropriate departments in the hotel. Thank you very much! I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Santa Barbara for a weekend. We've known the property for quite some time and were more than pleased to see that not only was the hotel all we remembered but it was also significantly improved. The Bistro restaurant and bar served really good quality fare and the there were memorable bar staff, which is never a bad thing. We particularly recall Kristi and Joel: Kristi has horses and Joel loves football. A charming and delightful pair, who will each gladly discuss their respective interests and more whilst serving up excellent cocktails. If you go there, I think they would enjoy a mention of horses and football - and you their company and drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello. Thank you very much for sharing your review and for your kind recognition of Kristi and Joel. I agree with you, these two individuals are passionate about providing our guests with great service. I have personally thanked them for their efforts and congratulated them for being recognized in such platform. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to your return. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Santa Barbara on a Friday night during a trip up the coast. We got the room for free because I have a Hyatt credit card and we redeemed the one free night reward for this stay. Since we went out to dinner first, we didn't check in until 9 p.m. that night. The hotel staff was nice, but the hotel was old, worn out, and more of a motel. When we finally found our room, not an easy feat, we were disappointed. It smelled like my aunt's basement, looked 70's, and had a view of the Motel 6 from the window. I cannot imagine paying over $200/night to stay at this dump. We went to sleep and woke up early the next morning to drive to Big Sur. I would not stay at this hotel again, even for free. Actually, we paid for valet parking, which was about $30. The only reason I am giving it two stars instead of one is because the people working at the front desk were nice. Thank goodness we booked the Four Seasons Biltmore Santa Barbara when we drove back through Santa Barbara three days later. That was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Greetings. Thank you very much for your review. I have shared your kind feedback with our Front Office Manager with regard to the friendliness of our team members in his department. I am truly sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. In the event anything changes, please feel free to reach out to me as I would like to be of personal assistance with making your next reservation. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel
Hotel Mar Monte
Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.