We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good beach location but a walk to shops and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good beach location but a walk to shops and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms were very large, clean, comfortable & well appointed. Pool are was nice as well. Only downside is that it is a mile away from the bars, restaurants and shops, there is a shuttle that runs in the day but stops at 6pm. It is about $12-$15 in a taxi but it is worth it as there is lots to do on the main street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    142
    127
    64
    34
See reviews for
149
185
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am not familiar with Hyatt's so I can't rate this hotel in terms of the brand. I was in town for a wedding at the zoo, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
The view was impeccable - we had a 3rd floor room in the Santa Cruz bldg with the beach just in front of us - and furnishings were nice. We had drinks at the pool, which is quite small for the size of property. It almost seems like they bought a small motel years ago and then expanded around it.
They have a great breakfast buffet at the restaurant on property. We had room service twice, once was perfect and once was horrible.
The only downfall is that you're a taxi ride away from State Street, which is where all the action is.
I would definitely recommend the hotel to others...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a one night stay and delivered on its promise. Good quality hotel, well kept property, proximity to beach, and clean rooms. A 20 minute walk will land you in State St. where you can walk up and enjoy the vibe of the town, or simply walk Stearn Pier. Parking can be a nightmare but if you leave your car in the parking lot and walk then you'll be okay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

7th August 2013
Not sure about the location of this hotel ?? on one hand it was across the road from the beach but on the other it seemed to us (not knowing the area) a bit cut off. We only found one shop approx. 10 minutes walk away.
Our room overlooked the pool area which at night was very pretty with the pool continually changing colour.
Check in / out we found very easy.
Our room was clean & tidy & well appointed
"Happy Hour" is worth taking advantage of - most bottle beers 2 for 1 and good quality cheap food too, this even attracted some locals so they must offer a good deal.
Parking in the Hotel grounds was a problem but the Valets told us to drive round and if no space they would valet park (underground) at no extra charge. This they then did.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've stayed at Hyatts all over the world and the SB location isn't quite like any of them. It's an older low rise right across from the beach. It's a little spread out, and older, but the furnishings were up to Hyatt standards. My room was right above the pool and I could see the ocean.

If you are in town for the beach it's a great location, though it is about a mile walk to the busy tourist areas.

Overall it was different from what I expected, but I enjoyed my stay and would come again if I couldn't get something closer to the heart of downtown. The staff was great, especially the bell staff and valets. Very helpful and friendly. Self parking at the hotel is pretty limited, but if it is full they will valet for no additional charge (the cost difference is minimal though).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for a couple of nights on a trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles and really enjoyed the stay.

We had booked through Hyatt's website with an option for an upgrade to an ocean view room and this turned out to be a good choice, as we were assigned one of the ocean view rooms in the main building, directly on Cabrillo Blvd. and overlooking the ocean. Based on reviews of other rooms I think it is worth to pay the extra price for a full ocean view room, as ours was spacious, newly refurbished and perfectly clean.

The room also had a window on the pool area, but we did not find it noisy as mentioned in other reviews (there is some noise coming from the street, but this is true for all rooms facing the ocean in Santa Barbara, as all hotels are on Cabrillo Blvd.).

It appears that the structure was not originally built as one resort but was subsequently remodeled, and this shows in a few things: the pool area is nice but too small for the dimension of the hotel, the restaurant is located on the far end of the main building and is quite a walk from the other buildings, some rooms appear to be quite small, etc. So in certain respects the structure is not fully up to Hyatt standards, but service is impeccable.

As for the location, the Hyatt is right across the street from the beach and near the zoo, but quite far away from downtown Santa Barbara. It took us about 25-30 minutes to walk to the lively part of State Street, which we actually enjoyed to do before dinner. However, we always took taxi cabs to return to the Hotel (figure in $10-12 for each trip). Valet parking at the hotel is $22/day, but there is some free parking space in the side streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

With the transition to new general manager, Richard Uribe, Hyatt Santa Barbara has not missed a step in it’s goal of hotel excellence. Together with senior sales manager, Jim Rice, and a fabulous staff, Mr. Uribe has very successfully continued Hyatt’s pursuit of superior hotel service.
The renovated rooms offer spectacular mountain and ocean views together with nice size balconies.
The location is probably the best in Santa Barbara...across the street from East Beach, the best beach in Santa Barbara. East beach also has a wonderful children’s playground which is next to the great East Beach Grill. Also close by is the beautiful “must see” Santa Barbara Zoo, bike and jogging path, Stearn’s Wharf, and the Sunday Arts and Craft show.
Hyatt’s restaurant, Bistro 1111, has an excellent chef and the food is really good along with superb friendly service. Happy Hour from 4 PM to 7 PM is fun and a terrific place to wind down the day!
I have been staying at this hotel for 26 years and I have never been disappointed...reservations are already made for next August!

Room Tip: 3rd floor Santa Maria Building or Santa Cruz Building facing Cabrillo Blvd. offer beautiul ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.