We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Find in Santa Barbara” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Toronto
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Find in Santa Barbara”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

They have created a welcoming, clean and accessible new hotel. Excellent location on State St - a bit north and quieter area. Pool area will be perfect to return to after a day touring once the weather warms up. I do agree it is a bit pricey. Sophie loved it. Definitely would stay again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    55
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
62
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apparently recently remodeled. Clean. VERY small room (queen bed) $269 + tax. Wayyyy overpriced! Equilivant to a Travel Lodge. In-wall A/C unit - VERY noisy! Sliding, wall hung frosted door to very small bathroom. Not a lot of privacy if the light is on & no seal to prevent "odors" from entering sleeping area. Very little counter space in bathroom. (Tiny) Pantene products. Exterior hallways. Our room is on a major thoroughfare, so street noise is an issue. Noise also when other rooms run water. No in-room safe. No plastic laundry bag. No bottled water. No extra pillows or blankets. No glasses (plastic cups). Small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer. Free parking garage. Continental breakfast in lobby until 10AM. It was the only hotel with rooms available tonight, but I wouldn't stay here again at this rate. Value should be about $90.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your interesting review of the hotel. I'm surprised about your comments of the hotel being over priced. Most of our guests reviews are very complimentary regarding the value of our recently renovated hotel compared with other hotels in Santa Barbara. I'm pleased you found the hotel clean and you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was very convenient to all restaurants and shopping. The walk to the beach is just about 1 1/2 miles right up state street. We walked from the hotel back down to the train station when our trip was over. Just a note cabs are not regulated in Santa Barbara and we were charged 22.00 for our 1.5 mile trip to the hotel, take the little shuttle bus for 50 cents. It goes right up State St and get off at the end then walk three blocks and your there! The hotel is in a quiet area so no loud noises from the outside, but the like others have said the refrigerator is very annoying and loud, bring ear plugs and and it won't be a problem. Breakfast was good and everyone seem very nice and helpful! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel and your Santa Barbara weekend get away. I'm pleased you found the staff pleasant and helpful. I appreciate your kind remarks regarding the pool and breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights during September 2014, on our way south as part of our road trip. We originally had only planned one night but re-evaluated our itinerary and added an extra night. The hotel is very centrally located and is only a few blocks walk from the “centre”. The reception staff were very accommodating and helpful. There is also free wifi and an internet connected PC in the reception area. The hotel is well- located and super clean and shiny, we were not aware of any street noise but our room was facing in towards the pool. There was the added bonus that the parking was free, and I did not encounter the valet parking. The only negatives were the noisy a/c units. The room was spacious and had plenty of storage. The TV was a large flat screen and reception was great. I believe the rooms had been refurbished. The bathroom was large and all the facilities in good working order. There was also a fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast was included in the price and was self-service. Not a huge choice but more than adequate. There was a pool at the property, and although not used by ourselves, seemed to be popular. All in all a good and economical choice for Santa Barbara, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your very thorough review of the hotel. Yes, we are conveniently located on State Street just steps away from the many shops and restaurants that Santa Barbara has to offer. I'm pleased you found the hotel super clean and shiny. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the friendliness of the staff, the free Wi-Fi and complementary continental breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit from the U.K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all State street is the place to stay in Santa Barbara if you want all the best restaurants & shops as all located there. State street is probably 1 miles long, with La Quinta about 2/3 way up away from beach front. We were put in one of the bungalows with parking right outside. The accomodation was spotless and had a modern feel, beds were to die for in comfort. Santa Barbara is quite expensive and I thought La Quinta was great value for money. Wifi is hopeless but was refreshing to stay away from iphones & ipads. Pool was small & had a friendly relaxed atmosphere my daughter loved the pool & we loved the relaxation cause she was happy.
The breakfast selection was great, cereals, juice, yourgurts, fresh waffles, muffins, fresh bread, boiled eggs, porridge. But it was chaos there, a small area behind a wall opposite reception, about 4/5 tables to sit and the 3 mornings we were there about 30 guests battling to move around. We took the easy option grabbed a plate drink & took to the couches opposite reception.

Room Tip: Even though our room was 2 away from road no noise at all. I am a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the very kind and detailed review of the hotel. I really enjoyed your comments that our beds are to die for and our complimentary continental breakfast was included in the price. I'm pleased you found your room spotless and modern with your own private patio. I appreciate your remarks regarding the hotel being conveniently located on State Street just a short walk to Santa Barbara's many shops and restaurants. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit from England!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very comfortable hotel. I've stayed very comfortably with my two kids, wife and my mother in a very well furnished suite. Best bed on my trip. The internet, breakfast and parking are complimentary. Great value for the price,

Room Tip: Suite 202 is very big and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel and your remarks regarding the great value. I'm pleased you found the hotel comfortable, clean, well furnished and you enjoyed the two room suite. I appreciate your comments regarding our complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. I'm happy that the mattresses in your room was the best during your trip. We look forward to having you and you family as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was nice sized, temperature inside the room was comfortable (although since weather outside was pleasant, I didn't use the room's air or heat), parking was free and convenient, wifi was dependable. Bed mattress was too soft for me but I prefer a very firm mattress so it might be fine for other people. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your very kind review of the hotel. I'm pleased you had a comfortable stay and pleasant experience. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Address: 1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara hotel is the perfect location for you to enjoy the sunny American Riviera and the fabulous State Street shopping area. This California boutique La Quinta Inn & Suites hotel is located conveniently on State Street within walking distance to many boutique shops, restaurants, and entertainment! The...See more Santa Barbara CA hotel provides a convenient hub for your work or vacation travel. We are equipped with free high speed wireless Internet service, a business center, free local calls and a helpful front desk staff to make your stay enjoyable. Find time to relax in our outdoor swimming pool and bring home a beautiful tan your friends will envy. Take a stroll down the famed State Street and shop to your heart's content! The local electric trolley will take you between the hotel, the beach, and the shopping area for a nominal fee. After a long day out on the town relax in your room on the brand new mattresses with luxurious bedding to wake up refreshed and ready for the day. Book online or call today for reservations at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Days Inn And Suites Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.