We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, nice hotel on State Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Quiet, nice hotel on State Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great, affordable hotel on State Street. The hotel was recently updated and there was some additional work being done to the facility while I stayed there. It has a nice mid-century modern feel. Our room was spacious, very clean, and nicely appointed. Had some issues accessing the room with the card key, but hotel staff was always available to help. Parking is a bit of an issue if you arrive at hotel late at night. Otherwise, it's a great value and nice place to stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
49
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I know that the trend today with many or maybe most hotels is to build or renovate in a modern style. This helps make a hotel feel cleaner, but lacks warmth.

Our room was clean, but I would do things differently:

The walls are white, and almost everything is black and white, with the obvious exception being a coral-colored painting on a side wall. They need artwork on the main wall on both sides of the TV so you have something to look at.

The frosted glass door into the bathroom is odd, definitely a modern touch. The problem is that the toilet is immediately on the other side, so it's really hard to poop without thinking someone on the other side doesn't see what you're doing either directly or by silhouette.

Our room was supposed to have an ottoman but didn't. I could definitely use it right now as I'm up early and the chair would be a lot more comfy with it.

The bed is comfy. White sheets, so it's easy to tell that they're clean.

The refrigerator is a bit loud, so is the heater.

There was an odd sound that came from somewhere on the other side of the wall, either another room or equipment. It stopped after a while but it kept me up for a while.

The closet is oddly situated so that you have to go into the bathroom to get to your clothes. Not very convenient if one guest is getting dressed while another is showering.

They have no hot tub, but did say their pool is heated to 85 degrees. I would prefer the hot tub this time of year.

The lobby is way too over-lit, at least in the dining area. They need to tone it down somehow.

They don't really allow you to park your own car on the weekend and do valet instead. On a trip like this, we need to make various trips to the car for stuff, and our car is usually in a bit off disarray from a road trip, and we don't really want others in it. We were told we could park on the street but not in the lot. We luckily found a place right out front, but I think it is a yellow curb so I'll have to move in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your interesting and detailed review of the hotel. I'm pleased you found the hotel clean and modern. I apologize for the inconvenience of the valet parking as it is needed as we are completing the resurfacing of our upper parking lot. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent a week in this hotel. It is very nice. Located very close to downtown, so you can walk around. Breakfast is really nice, they have a great variety of traditional food (eggs, bread, cereal, milk, fruits, etc). The rooms and toilets are very clean.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your very nice review of the hotel. I'm pleased that you and your family enjoyed a week long visit with us. I appreciate your comments about the cleanliness or your room and bathroom. I'm happy you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to having you and your family as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of those older style motels that has a had a total makeover. Very pleasant staff at the front desk. Rooms are smallish but well equipped and comfortable enough. Nice pool area and free wifi. Hotel is well situated to restaurants and bars downtown. Complimentary buffet breakfast is included.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel! We completed the renovation this year and as you mentioned it was a complete makeover. I'm pleased you found the rooms well appointed and comfortable. Thank you for your comments regarding our pleasant staff. I'm happy you enjoyed the pool area, complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara from the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I just stayed at the recently renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites in Santa Barbara and were pleasantly surprised by the retro decor, wonderfully heated swimming pool, chic landscaping, and service-minded staff. The back pool area is fantastic and the morning breakfast was a nice treat, as well. Love that they welcome dogs which is how we chose it in the first place!

The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because the fridge in the room cycled on and off all night pretty loudly, but compared to the over all package, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel! I'm pleased you found the hotel décor chic & retro, you liked the landscaping and your family enjoyed our heated pool. I'm happy you enjoyed the breakfast and you found the staff service minded. Yes, we are pet friendly. We are replacing those noisy refrigerators. We look forward to having you, your family and your pet stay with us the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa maria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

awesome hotel personnel. great location, on busy State Str but very quiet, quite modern hotel. central location to mission and beach. follow mission road or state street to everything. parking on site, even for our out of town relatives that came to join us.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for you the wonderful review of the hotel. I appreciate your comments regarding our great staff. I'm pleased you found the hotel quiet and modern. Yes, we are conveniently located on State street just steps away from the many restaurants and shops. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose the hotel because it was reasonably priced and seemed to be in a good location for going to the Granada Theatre (for a concert) and enjoying State Street and the many stores and restaurants along the street. From the outside, the hotel looks fairly old, but it has been not only well maintained over the years, but seems to have been recently renovated. The staff was always very friendly, welcoming and helpful! We were greeted with warm smiles and "hello's" upon our arrival and throughout our stay. The lobby was very comfortable with several sitting areas and a breakfast area (included every morning with your stay). The pool was a nice size with comfy lounge chairs to lay upon and relax or chairs and tables to sit at and eat, read or whatever. The room was large and comfortable with a huge patio/balcony, large sitting room, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The room was very clean upon our arrival and simply but nicely decorated. There is a small snack, sundry and gift shop off the lobby for a few last minute items. The hotel is at the upper end of State Street with all the restaurants, shops, theaters, and nightlife just a few blocks away. The beach is a little further away, but you can walk if your up to it, or bring or rent bikes, take the public transportation or drive there as your last choice. Daily breakfast, WiFi and free parking are all included. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Santa Barbara for a relaxing weekend or longer!

Room Tip: Room #202 was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your very kind and detailed review of the hotel. Yes, we were renovated this year. I'm pleased you found the hotel clean and modern. I appreciate your comments about the friendly staff. Thanks for posting pictures of the hotel on your review. We look forward to having you back as out guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Address: 1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara hotel is the perfect location for you to enjoy the sunny American Riviera and the fabulous State Street shopping area. This California boutique La Quinta Inn & Suites hotel is located conveniently on State Street within walking distance to many boutique shops, restaurants, and entertainment! The...See more Santa Barbara CA hotel provides a convenient hub for your work or vacation travel. We are equipped with free high speed wireless Internet service, a business center, free local calls and a helpful front desk staff to make your stay enjoyable. Find time to relax in our outdoor swimming pool and bring home a beautiful tan your friends will envy. Take a stroll down the famed State Street and shop to your heart's content! The local electric trolley will take you between the hotel, the beach, and the shopping area for a nominal fee. After a long day out on the town relax in your room on the brand new mattresses with luxurious bedding to wake up refreshed and ready for the day. Book online or call today for reservations at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Days Inn And Suites Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.