We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the first experience the welcoming and helpful staff set the tone of this Inn. We had an upscale room on the poolside which had a generous spacious sitting area in addition to the bed area and an enormous bathroom. We did not use the splendidly attractive pool but it was a fine feature enjoyed by many. We had a fridge an a microwave, bring your own utensils, etc. The complementary breakfast was adequate, not memorable. The location was wonderful with several excellent restaurants within a three block walking distance. Rooms are accessed from an exterior walkway so that you might need to keep your curtains or draperies drawn for privacy.

Not to be confused with a luxury hotel, the 5 stars are for excellence and value as a motor inn.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your kind review! I'm happy to know the staff was helpful and set the tone for your visit with us. I'm pleased you found your room updated as we completed our renovation in April. Yes, we are conveniently located within walking distance to the many excellent restaurants on State street. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
33
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this little treasure right in the middle of all there is to do in Santa Barbara. Our room faced poolside, was enormous, beautifully decorated and modern, with a large bathroom and sitting area. The free continental breakfast was very nice, but there is also the option to eat at the delicious market right across the street. The free parking was well appreciated, though we did not once need the car to walk to any of the fabulous restaurants and shops on State Street. The staff was exemplary. If you travel to Santa Barbara this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We chose the executive suite with the king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I'm please you found the hotel to be a treasure in Santa Barbara. Thanks so much for the kind words about your room and the friendliness of the staff. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great Hotel!! Staff is very friendly and helpful! Good Location and free Parking garage. Very clean and big rooms. Nice shower and big beds. Would definitely go to these Hotels again around the world.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I'm please you found the staff friendly and your room was nice and clean. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't let the front of the building deceive you! The interior of all hotel spaces is completely up to date. The Executive King Room was a great size, super comfy bed, large bathroom, and a larger size fridge.
We had a 2nd floor room facing State Street but did not hear any noise.
The A/C unit worked well.
The pool was really clean, great temerapture, and very secluded from the surrounding neighbors.
The breakfast was standard and included hard-boiled eggs, cereals, breads, juices.
The had fresh coffee throughout the day which was great.
The location on State Street is awesome. It's directly across from Cantwells' Deli which was fabulous, and the location is just beyond where all the homeless people congregate... we didn't see a single one in the area of the hotel (unless when we stayed at Hotel Santa Barbara).
The staff was super friendly and courteous!
We will definitely use this as our place to stay when in SB.

Room Tip: We liked the State Street location. We didn't hear any noise. We thought the Executive King was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I'm please you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the pool is nice, inviting and refreshing. Thank you for your kind words regarding your room and the location! We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely refurbished room at the end of State Street so ideal for shopping and the walk to the beach. Good fridge, wifi provided, nice shower room and spacious pool with lots of fresh towels provided. We booked at short notice and got a good rate. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast, which was included, was a great selection to choose from.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We recently completed our renovation in April. I'm please you found our location on State street convenient. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location in Santa Barbara. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Lovely pool and quiet location. The reception staff were really lovely and friendly and we felt very welcome. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I'm happy you found the hotel at a perfect location on State street. I'm pleased you found your room spacious, modern and clean. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old-style motel, upgraded pool and lobby areas, white and rattan vibe. Super-friendly staff but room was just ok - noisier-than-usual a/c and dark. Breakfast was appalling which means "average" by American hotel standards - we preferred IHOP for waffles, pancakes and scrambles, just 100m up the road.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you found the pool and lobby open and refreshing. I'm happy to know you found the staff super friendly. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Address: 1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-Renovated 3-story historic inn with spacious guest rooms and suites. Conveniently located on State Street with easy access to everything you want to see and do in Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Days Inn And Suites Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.