We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here one night. Rooms were spacious and clean. Nice little pool. Free, but basic, continental breakfast. Close to shops and restaurants. Dog-friendly hotel (ie lots of dogs in the parking lot!).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

cheerful staff
Staff NEEDS to recommend Alameda Park to families!! (close by and unlike any we've ever seen)
beds were fabulous, pillows too
great landscaping at pool (was slightly cool water temp though)
ample lounge chairs (trim trees to avoid stained cushions)
walked a few blocks to dinner/shopping - loved it.

Room Tip: I was told that the "bungalow" building in the back of the hotel had slightly larger and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has a bright newer lobby. Pool area was clean and attractive with lots of plants and palms. Three of us stayed in a nice sized suite with a pull-out sofa and king sized bed. (Our friend said the sofa was very comfortable).

Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, waffles, bagels, juice, cold hard boiled eggs, yogurt and pastries.

Clean, bright, roomy. No complaints :)

Room Tip: We had our window open in our 3rd floor room and were on the alley side. Delivery trucks or garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our hotel. Our full renovations were completed recently, and we're so happy you found everything bright and comfortable! Look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the finest La Quinta's we have stayed at. Ultra-modern, very large suite, including two beds and a sitting area with sleeper sofa (perfect for a family with two teenagers). Bathroom was huge and clean. Heated pool and very good free breakfast (it was a beautiful morning, so we ate outside by the pool). Manager on duty the next morning was Jonathan, who was super friendly and helpful (and an O's fan!!). Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel! We are fortunate to have a team that focuses on "all-around excellence" to make your stay great. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My adult children and their families wee delightfully surprised I acquired such excellent hotel accommodations - and within walking distance to town where excellent restaurants abound! We had a marvelous wedding celebration weekend and my children will be back (so will I but not with them). The hotel and rooms were utraclean, decor new, facilities such as the pool fun - and the rooms were very quiet! Breakfast looked good (we ate out). The staff was very accommodating as well - always eager to assist. Great job!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel! We are so happy that you earned kudos from the rest of your family - and can't wait to have you back with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a little unsure when we drove up, but when we went inside, it was very nice. It was probably the nicest La Quinta we had stayed in. I believe the desk clerk said they had just undergone renovations. I was able to go for a run the mile and a half down to the wharf, and back. It is a nice "downtown" area. It did seem a bit pricey though. We didn't have time to use the pool, but it looked nice too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious. Nice pool area. Free parking and free continental breakfast. We had neighbours who had visitors both very late at night and very early in the morning, and the door knocking/slamming woke us up several times, but that's not the hotel's fault. Perhaps some noise from the street, but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Address: 1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-Renovated 3-story historic inn with spacious guest rooms and suites. Conveniently located on State Street with easy access to everything you want to see and do in Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Days Inn And Suites Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.