We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel interior looks like new. Rooms was very nice. We had double beds the box corners stood out a lot. I did hurt my leg on that. TV is new. Wifi is free but connection not strong. Was on first floor and room does not have safety chain which is strange for exterior ground floor near the street room. That was 128.

Nice keurig coffee maker. But they only gave us decaf. Nice large bathroom but no bath mat for the cold floors. AC is not central but a unit on the window.

Free breakfast was great and helps with traveling budget with family of four.

Bed not comfy. Was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review of the hotel.

We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you and your family visit Santa Barbara!

Best,

Scott Nevius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Close to the restaurants and shops along State St. Very quiet, nice pool, not many little kids around. There is a trolley that goes to the wharf, the wharf is probably about 1 to 1 1/2 miles down State St.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel.

We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Best,

Scott Nevius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the La Quinta on State Street in Santa Barbara. The motel is conveniently located about two blocks above where a majority of restaurants, theaters, and shops are on State Street. The motel’s location makes for an easy walk to entertainment. Staff was pleasant each time I entered the lobby area. An enhanced continental breakfast is served each morning. If you need more sustenance, immediately across the street is a corner market that cooks made-to-order breakfasts and lunches. The room was spacious, clean, and included a fridge, microwave, Keurig, two queen beds, desk, easy chair and free wireless.

For those on business an abundance of electrical plugs was provided. The bathroom was equally large with fluffy towels and an interesting frosted door which you can’t see through, but it is unnerving at first. The only drawback is that the rooms are all on exterior corridors and the entry doors do have slight gaps, so, street noise can be heard at all hours. Should I go back to Santa Barbara, I’d stay at this motel again without hesitation

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel.

We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Best,

Scott Nevius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was excellent, with the exception of the metal bed frames, which are longer than the mattresses. The corners are a hazard. Both my daughter and I came in contact with those sharp metal corners and it was quite painful. We didn't bleed because we wore long pants, but someone could easily break a leg on those sharp metal corners.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel.

We are addressing the issue of the bed frame.

We look forward to having you and your family stay with us the next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Kind regards,

Scott Nevius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night in June 2014. It exceeded my expectations- was much nicer than I expected a La Quinta to be. On State Street so a block from great restaurants and shops. Good pool, average continental breakfast. Helpful front desk staff. No complaints, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel.

We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Best,

Scott Nevius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is exactly what you would expect in sunny Santa Barbara. It looks like the hotel has recently had a complete makeover. The beautiful lobby has various sea glass tones and white tile. There was a convenience store or pantry which came in very handy. The pool is very private and is heated. You can't beat the location on State Street. There are an unlimited amount of restaurants, art galleries and shops in the area. My family and I loved the close proximity to Stearns Wharf and the Harbor. The staff at the hotel were great and give great suggestions on what to see and do while in the area. Great job LaQuinta.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel.

I appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff. And yes, we have a great location!

We look forward to having you and your Texas family as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Best,

Scott Nevius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara

Address: 1601 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-Renovated 3-story historic inn with spacious guest rooms and suites. Conveniently located on State Street with easy access to everything you want to see and do in Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Barbara
Days Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.