We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little rooms with artificial fire place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Save Saved
You added Ala Mar Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ala Mar Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   102 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice little rooms with artificial fire place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had a 2 queens. Located directly on the pier and beside much more expensive hotels. Parking is free. Nice rooms with artificial fire place. Forget the breakfast. Wasn't good. But nobody will beat 99 USD + tax in this location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    20
    20
    47
See reviews for
18
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was on a West Coast road trip for my hen party with 2 of my girlfriends & we had nog planned any accommodation in Santa Barbara. We started driving to SB in the late afternoon from LA and by the time we arrived it was nightfall. With no idea where to go we just drove along the seafront and parked up. Ala Mar Motel was the first accommodation we saw, right on the corner & opposite the pier. My girlfriends jumped out and I went to park up the car. We decided to go for the motel because they offered us a cheap rate (worked out at $30 each for the night) in a triple room and the girls checked out the available room & said it was fine. It was also late so we couldn't be bothered to look for anywhere else. The room was very quaint, we couldn't understand why it was so cheap! There were 2 x double beds & 1 x single bed, everything clean & comfy with a TV etc. There is small car park so we parked the car right in the front of our room. We ended up staying another night as the weather in SB was beautiful & we wanted to most of the beach (it was June 2012 but still cold & colder as we drive further north up the Pacific Highway/Route 101). At first the manager agreed we could have the same cheap rate but the next morning when we went to pay the other gentlemen said no... we had to ask him to call/speak to the manager and all got resolved later in the day when he honoured the negotiated rate.

Breakfast was very simple with cereal, croissants and actually a decent waffle maker but they are very strict with times and stop at 10am prompt. You also have to take it back to your room/hang around because it's served in the very small reception area!

On the first night there was a beautiful view of the moon; it was almost coming out of the sea, very very big! It was a beautiful picture but alas no one could capture the glory on their cameras :(

I would recommend this motel if you pay no more than $30pp/pn. Not sure what other accommodation is like there; you may find better/cheaper elsewhere but it suited us fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A bit of a dump, but what a location. Beautiful outlook in all directions, but up close it's shabby and in need of repair and cleaning. Location can't be beat. But price for the area is very low. Obviously a great little motel back in the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived to Santa Barbara later in the evening and pulled into the Ala Mar with out reservation. Staff was helpful and nice. We were given a small room at the back of the building in an alley. It was late so it was fine. It's ashame, because the propietor has though about comforts for thier guests and have tried to decorate in a comfortable shabby chic. But the place was just dirty! The walls, the bed posts and side tables had black smudge marks all over them as if a maintenance man or someone touched everything and left oil/dirt prints everywhere. The bathroom was unfinished too. It's too bad because one can see they have added small gestures of amenties to make a guest comfortable. It is just dirty. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I guess it used to be way back when. Now, it’s falling apart & no one cares & they make a conscious effort to lure you in with great pictures…don’t believe it. We got their “best room” facing the ocean with a cute little balcony. I won’t way anymore, just look at the pictures.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay overnight and passed by this hotel so decided to give it a try, at $170 for an "ocean-view large room with jacuzzi". The room was on the upper level, on the far side from the beach. Yes, it had ocean view. But I saw a used Q-tip on the bottom of the cupboard and the floor felt sticky when walking barefooted. The "jacuzzi" was an old bath tub with some jet nozzles. The entire place was screaming for a throrough clean-up.
Breakfast was included but was pathetic: Coffee and rolls on a tiny board in the small reception. There are great cafés in Santa Barbara, so we went there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were driving from Santa Monica to Yosemite via the pacific highway.
Decided to stop off in a few places along the way.

The Ala Mar Motel was in a perfect location right on the sea front.
The rooms were a little shabby but for a one night stop of it was a perfect location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ala Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Mar Motel

Address: 102 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ala Mar Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location next to the beach and State St. We're a small boutique motel. Some rooms have private a jacuzzi. Most rooms have the beach view. We also have rooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Ala Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Ala Mar Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Mar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.