We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ala Mar Motel to your Saves list
Ala Mar Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   102 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A bit of a dump, but what a location. Beautiful outlook in all directions, but up close it's shabby and in need of repair and cleaning. Location can't be beat. But price for the area is very low. Obviously a great little motel back in the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    24
    24
    49
See reviews for
22
55
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived to Santa Barbara later in the evening and pulled into the Ala Mar with out reservation. Staff was helpful and nice. We were given a small room at the back of the building in an alley. It was late so it was fine. It's ashame, because the propietor has though about comforts for thier guests and have tried to decorate in a comfortable shabby chic. But the place was just dirty! The walls, the bed posts and side tables had black smudge marks all over them as if a maintenance man or someone touched everything and left oil/dirt prints everywhere. The bathroom was unfinished too. It's too bad because one can see they have added small gestures of amenties to make a guest comfortable. It is just dirty. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I guess it used to be way back when. Now, it’s falling apart & no one cares & they make a conscious effort to lure you in with great pictures…don’t believe it. We got their “best room” facing the ocean with a cute little balcony. I won’t way anymore, just look at the pictures.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay overnight and passed by this hotel so decided to give it a try, at $170 for an "ocean-view large room with jacuzzi". The room was on the upper level, on the far side from the beach. Yes, it had ocean view. But I saw a used Q-tip on the bottom of the cupboard and the floor felt sticky when walking barefooted. The "jacuzzi" was an old bath tub with some jet nozzles. The entire place was screaming for a throrough clean-up.
Breakfast was included but was pathetic: Coffee and rolls on a tiny board in the small reception. There are great cafés in Santa Barbara, so we went there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were driving from Santa Monica to Yosemite via the pacific highway.
Decided to stop off in a few places along the way.

The Ala Mar Motel was in a perfect location right on the sea front.
The rooms were a little shabby but for a one night stop of it was a perfect location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A bit pricy at $249 a night for this rather average motel, but it's right on the ocean with an uninterrupted view so that makes up for a lot. The office is strictly old school... meaning they don't use computers... all paper. So naturally they lost our reservation, which we made in person the day before. Misplaced the card. So the elderly gentlemen behind the counter asks me, "what was the name of the person who took your reservation?" I replied, "I don't know. He wasn't wearing a name tag. How many employees work behind the counter?" It was just the two of them. Ok... so... it was the other guy. Cool dude, with long black hair and a USC cap. That's him... but we misplaced your reservation. You have a room, but we just don't know which one. "Come back in a few hours when he comes into work." When I came back, the office was locked and dark, at 3:00 pm. But, the room was clean and acceptable... and did I say there's the ocean across the street, with a 2nd floor large balcony?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We turned up with no reservation and picked it because of the location which is ace. Price was Ok.
Its a bit rough around the edges but we liked it. It was nice to have a room with a ceiling fan and not A/C.
The room was a bit Spanish in decoration and was small but fine.
The dude behind the counter is cool in a Californian kind of way.
Walking distance to SB centre and the pier is pretty much across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ala Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Mar Motel

Address: 102 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ala Mar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location next to the beach and State St. We're a small boutique motel. Some rooms have private a jacuzzi. Most rooms have the beach view. We also have rooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ala Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Ala Mar Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Mar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.