We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in lovely Santa Barbara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay in lovely Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here for three nights - and a very nice place too. We did have to change rooms after one night (dodgy light fitting), but the staff were very helpful and efficient. Room was good with fridge, good flat-screen tv and very comfy beds. There was a very nice friendly feel to the place and they even offer free dvd rental to all the customers. Only slight downside was the plumbing in the bathrooms could need updating (they were in the process of renovating rooms when we stayed there). A choice also of teo swimming pools, one small one out front and a larger more secluded one with free towels etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    300
    114
    43
    41
See reviews for
166
265
24
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The photos on the Sandman's web-site don't do it justice. I hold my verdict on a hotel after having spent a night there and this place passed with honors. It is seriously excellent value. Modest rooms, but clean, fresh, good wifi, pleasant unobtrusive and helpful staff. Away from the action of the beach area at the other end of State Street but easy to find if you are in a car. Receommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Room 553, two double beds. Weird, pungent smell in the room. Some combination of mildew and the cleanser they used to try to mask the smell. Very shabby, run down. Just kinda gross in general. Staff was friendly. Freeway close. Internet didn't work in room, only in lobby. Oddly, the reviews on hotels.com sounded pretty good. My guess is that if you book through hotels.com, maybe you get a better room because they know people will be writing reviews? Price is cheaper than most of the other hotels in the area. If you stay here, ask them for a better room if you get one that's not so good. Breakfast is just pre-packaged muffins & microwave breakfast burritos. But there's other nice little places nearby. Only 10-15 mins from UCSB, 4 miles from downtown State Street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Maybe the router in the office worked better than the one near room 340. The front desk staff was, like, so sorry!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel looks like it hasn't changed in years.... the carpet, the bed, the linens, the fixtures, and definitely the tiny window air conditioners haven't been changed in years. Everything was clean - but obviously showing signs of wear. When we walked into the room it had a strong musty odor, and the tiny (extremely noisy) air conditioner did cool the room down after a while, but thank goodness it was cool enough at night to turn the thing off and open the windows or else I don't think I would have had a minutes' sleep. I don't know where the reviewer stayed that had beamed ceilings and ceiling fans, but our room was a typical 1960s motel room. There was a notice in the lobby saying they were going to be renovating soon - maybe they have already finished some of the rooms, but we weren't lucky enough to get one.

The pool area is very nice, and we had a nice afternoon out there.

The location is quite far from town, and that is reflected in the price, which, for Santa Barbara I guess is reasonable, but at $200/night I would certainly expect more. If you come, ask about the status of the renovations, and try to get a renovated room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I checked in late at night, just needing an inexpensive few hours of sleep, but I quickly discovered that they want to make me feel taken care of. It's not just the normalish free wi-fi and toiletries, it's the provision of hard and soft pillows with pleasant signs on the bed letting me know which was which, for my comfort. It was the little sign in the bathroom reassuring me if I had forgotten anything (toothpaste, shaving cream, anything..) to let them know and they'd take care of it. It was the free loan for the night of any of 300 DVDs in the main office. It was the pleasant complimentary continental breakfast and the juice and coffee in the front lobby at all hours. The fresh paint. And on and on. It's not a luxury hotel, but there is a desire to take care of you that I was not looking for but quickly appreciated and exceeds anything you will find at other hotels near its price range.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I visited Santa Barbara for the festivities surrounding the Santa Barbara Minute Film Festival, which included a concert by the band Fogelfoot. As per usual, I waited until the last minute and tried to book the cheapest hotel possible.

Unlike a recent trip to the awful Plaza Hotel in Vegas (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g45963-d97815-r53397993-Plaza_Hotel_Casino-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html), however, in which I followed the same latest/cheapest guidelines, I found the Sandman Inn comfortable, clean, and accessible, with a competent staff.

The rooms have high wooden gabled ceilings with ceiling fans, and the beds were comfortable. The hotel also offered free Internet access which, like the room, was big-free. Interaction with the staff was not unpleasant; I had to ask for an extra rollaway bed and that was wheeled in promptly, and we were charged an extra $10 per night.

Situated at one end of State Street, a busy Saint Babs thoroughfare, the Sandman Inn still feels isolated, with the rooms arranged like bungalows down a winding driveway. There is also a pool which we didn't try, but it looked like the three or four sunbathers lounging around it did.

I was pleasantly surprised by the Sandman Inn. At about $109 a night it was the cheapest place I could find at the last minute, but even with extra planning I'm not sure I could have gone below $90 or so for a Motel 6 in pricey Santa Barbara. Compared to the $40 per night I spent in a towering Vegas fleabag a few months ago, this was much better and will probably erase the lesson I learned about needing to plan ahead.

But the best thing about the Sandman (again, by comparison with the Plaza), was that it delivered what it promised. I wasn't bowled over by the hospitality but no one was rude, I was left alone, the room was clean and comfortable, the Internet worked, there was a continental breakfast that I could have taken advantage of had there not been a Denny's within walking distance, and I didn't feel, upon getting back on the 101, that I'd been taken advantage of.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.