We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place - Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Save Saved
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Branson, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Place - Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We came on a Thursday and they were having a Recession-Busting Weekday deal on their website. We got a king room, walk-in shower, lcd tv, mini-fridge, microwave, pool, and hot tub for $71/night.
My wife is a freak about motel rooms (she commonly brings her own blanket to sleep on top of) and she was surprised about how clean the bed looked. The bathroom and floor was clean.
It's standard motel fare and it's not on the beach, but who can complain when a lot of other stuff in Santa Barbara is $125-$150/night? There's a free breakfast with cereal, oatmeal, and donuts (again, standard motel stuff). They do have free dvd rental, which is nice. We weren't awaken with sirens or yelling. It seems to be a decent neighborhood. I haven't been in the pool or hot tub, but they looked fine. They also have deluxe rooms which are right at the pool. The floor was a little creaky, but not bad. The bed didn't squeek, which is always nice. There's also free wifi in the room. It looked like they had some laptops in the lobby, if you didn't bring one.
Overall - a good stay, although I don't know that I'd spend $100/night. At that rate, I'd probably just priceline something in Ventura.
JJ

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    285
    108
    46
    41
See reviews for
141
212
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed here for one night and found room comfortable but staff a little unfriendly. Not the most convenient location if you want to be close to town centre but ok for what it was (an overnight stop)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My partner and I stayed here during August 2009 and had a very good stay. We stayed here for 3 nights whilst road tripping around America. The hotel was very good value for money and has lots of facilities that made it a great hotel. Facilities included washing facilities, microwave, flat screen tv, coffee making facilities and dvd player in the room. There was also a free dvd rental facility available at reception. There were two pools, one of which had a jacuzzi. The rooms were kept clean and tidy and there was air conditioning in the room that was very much welcomed.

There is also free internet access in reception where they have 3 laptops for guest use.

The free parking bays are right outside your door which is reassuring from a security point of view.

Continental breakfast is included - fruit juices, tea, coffee, hard bolied eggs, fruit, cereal, bagels, toast, buritios, and yoghurt.

Santa Barbara "strip" where all the restaurants and shops are is a 10 minute drive away. The area of Santa Barbara is lovely and the beach sandy.

Overall i would recommend staying at this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the inn for 2 nights. The room was clean and well appointed but somewhat small. HDTV plus DVD player and a list of free DVD movies one can check out at the front desk. Depending on the day of the week, room rates range from $105 to $150 per night (Saturday the most expensive). One great feature for every guest and especially those with young kids is the free continental breakfast served from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. But it's more than just a continental breakfast. There are peeled hard boiled eggs, breakfast burritos, milk, fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt and much more. You can nuke the burritos in the micro there or the one in your room. Great coffee too. Given the room rates at many other inns and hotels in Santa Barbara, the Sandman Inn is good value for the money. Even though located on State Street, the inn is way north of the historic downtown if tourism is your desire. Gotta drive for that. One more comment; the management and desk personnel are the best. Very accommodating and nice folks.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed 2 nights. Staff were friendly.

The walls were paper-thin and there was quite a lot of noise from other guests. It was also overpriced, in my opinion.

Breakfast was fine.

The room was a bit shabby, e.g. poor decor and the sink had a badly-repaired hole in it. We would have preferred a room with two beds, but this wasn't an option on Lastminute, even though the hotel did have such a room available, but the price increase was to much. I felt the hotel could've given us the room with 2 beds, which we'd wanted., but they didn't.

Santa Barbara is a nice place, but expensive. I would hope to find a better hotel next time in terms of value-for-money, but perhaps that's optimistic!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed at the Sandman for work. We got in at 2 am and check in was horrible. They did not have my name even though I know my work made sure they did. They spelled it out for them because I have a difficult name. They finally let me check in. Our room had four bugs that we saw. One was on the pillow and had it not been 2 am we would have asked to change rooms. The toilet would not flush and the shower would not drain. The shower head is also so low I had to duck down to wash my hair. I am only 5'7. The hotel receptionist did not tell us where the room was and at night it is very difficult to find. The sign that points which way the rooms are was not lit. The continental breakfast was fair and when I asked for more towels they brought them right away. But the shower is so gross because it will not drain. They did not offer another room when I brought it to their attention. There are no bed skirts and all you see is a dirty mattress. Pillows and mattress are very uncomfortable. But there is cable with HBO, a dvd player, microwave, and fridge which were all a plus.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We had booked a 2 nights stay and left after the first night. The rooms were in need of major overhaul, broken furniture being held together with screws, wood blinds with broken slats, vertical blinds with different slats on them and some broken at the bottom. This we put up with for the price the first night. The thin walls where you could hear your neighbors TV on until 4 AM, the people in rooms having screaming fights and the guy on his cell phone yelling at 8 AM and the soar back from a mattress that was years past being usable we could not over look. When we checked out early I mentioned that the maid should also clean behind the bathroom door and get the Roach that was caught in the spider web.

I have never posted a bad hotel review before but this was the worst place I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.