We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Kenora
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying for two nights over Easter weekend, loved driving up to my room, room was clean and spotless. Bed was comfortable & made coffee in the room in the morning. I did not have the breakfast however others did go. I would stay there again when in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    296
    108
    43
    40
See reviews for
161
260
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This little gem of an Inn completely surprised me and renewed my faith in small inns! Nice staff; super clean rooms; comfy beds and nice pillows; 2 nice sized heated pools and a hot tub, all of which stayed open until 10pm. About a 15 minute drive to downtown. I will 100% stay here again! Super relaxed and friendly vibe at this hotel helped make for an awesome trip.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

All staff were pleasant. Room nice and clean although could do with brighter lights for evening. Toiletries, iron/board in room. Breakfast more than adequate, eat in or on patio area. About 2 miles out of town down State St. Grounds well maintained. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my second time staying here. The first time I found it to be a great value, especially with the pool area and jacuzzi. This time I found my room to be below par, with a continuous dripping shower faucet that is an ongoing issue given the large stain beneath it on the shower floor. As well, the walls were thin and we could hear the people next store into the late hours. Between the constant dripping and the neighbors noise, it was tough to get a good night's rest. I must have had a renovated room the first time and this time one that needs upgrading, especially the bathroom. Even with a very reasonable price, it was not worth it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place is fantastic. The people are wonderful. The diner is outstanding. We stayed two nights and had great interaction with all of the staff. The rooms were a bit small and could probably use a little more elbow grease when cleaning but I was in the cheapest room available. Overall my wife and I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

It's not Hilton. It's no four seasons. It's got great value with two heated pools, a small continental breakfast and small rooms with the basics. Free bottled water, fridge, free parking, even a small toothpaste and toothbrush. Easy to check in and check out. Great value for your dollar. While about a 10 min or less drive from the pier. Local places to walk to and eat and shop. The windows look out over the parking area so if you want to see out there goes privacy but who's in your room in Santa Barbara that much? For a few nights or a weekend it's perfect. To be more central to state street or downtown it's not great. I'd stay here again. My wife would disagree but she's a 4 season lady and I'm a bed and breakfast man. Enjoy your stay! Also free wifi which is pretty darn fast!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.