We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for over night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Save Saved
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for over night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This inn is on the main street into the downtown area but if is still a drive to beach. The rooms were clean and ok if a little dull. The pools were deep and nice. The breakfast was ok for the money. The only problem was the fact the wireless connection was slow and kept cutting out. But a good place for an over night stay, especially if you get there on Spanish Day as we did.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    285
    108
    46
    41
See reviews for
141
212
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

You have the choice of staying in a one- or two-storey building. We opted for the former so we wouldn’t have to listen to people overhead, but another advantage is that the single-storey rooms are in a nicer part of the property. Rooms are not overly large, but ours was bright and cheery, with a very comfortable bed, handy fridge and microwave, and a DVD player. You can borrow a DVD from the front desk; not too many recent releases, but with some 300 titles in stock, you’ll surely find something to your liking. Regret we didn’t have time to use either pool. They both looked inviting, with lounge chairs for relaxing and attractive landscaping.

Breakfast is self-serve at the on-site Al’s Diner, with your choice of indoor or outdoor seating. We avoid the usual suspects from the sugar and starch department – cold cereal, waffles, donuts, pastries, etc. – that seem to be a staple of hotel breakfasts but were fine with the hard-boiled eggs, yogurt and fresh fruit. One thing that didn’t work so well was the oatmeal. They offer regular oats, not the instant or quick type, so when I microwaved them in the little bowl provided, they overflowed long before they cooked. A nice mess to clean up, and all I had at the end was half a bowl of raw oats! If you need to supplement the breakfast or buy picnic stuff, there’s a Whole Foods pretty well opposite the hotel.

It’s too far to walk to downtown but an easy drive straight down State Street. Santa Barbara is pretty car-friendly. There’s abundant on-street parking, 90 minutes free, plus parking lots where the first 75 minutes are free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferguson, Missouri, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Simple room, beds were fine, room was fine. Bathroom had stains in shower and on floor, couldn't tell if it was from lack of cleaning or just couldn't get them up. Breakfast was nice and a wide variety. Service was ho-hum in the lobby, but excellent in the breakfast room. This was just a stop for sleeping for us, we were traveling up the coast. I wouldn't like to stay more than a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE CA USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Two pools, hot tub, nice location, movie theater and Whole Foods market within walking distance. It was very quiet as well. First night here my friend and I swam in the pool near reception all by ourselves, floating on our backs and watching the stars peeping through the surrounding palm trees. Staff friendly and helpful, and the price is RIGHT!

Room Tip: Well, there are several complexes, I'd choose away from the street and away from the pools, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Cosmetic upgrades in a crumbling old motel - black mold in the bathroom, crumbling wood, peeling paint and maintenance issues. They're trying, but construction noise in the next room -- all day -- in their more expensive "poolside" room isn't fair. Staff was (barely) polite but not friendly or particularly helpful. Breakfast offerings are primarily junk food. This is what you get in Santa Barbara in the summer for $157.

Room Tip: Go towards the back for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandman28, Manager at The Sandman Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Tom B,

I am glad you acknowledged that we are trying to make the Sandman better - Thank you.
The hotel was built in the 50's. We do have some challenges, and we work very hard year around making improvements. Therefore, I do have do disagree with you that we are a "crumbling old motel". Old yes, but The Sandman has aged with grace, is well taken care of (as reflected in many of our customer reviews) and is very charming. Our rates are very competive, and have great value.
We at The Sandman take great pride in the hotel, and we like all our guests to leave happy. In that spirit, I would like to talk to you and find out what went wrong with your stay, and try my very best to resolve it. Please give me a call.
Camellia Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice, spacious, and comfortable room! In addition, the place was well kept and quiet during the four days that we stayed. Very relaxing atmosphere. Room/ maid service was good. Initially had problems with the air conditioning/ heating unit; however, maintenance man came up and fixed it. It worked perfectly. Enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this place. Good location that is within 5-10 minutes to everything! It has become one of our favorite places to stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room upstairs, it had lots of windows with a good afternoon breeze. The room was lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is reminiscent of the many roadside hotels that dotted our nation's highways in the 50's. The Sandman is immaculately maintained and spotlessly clean. A perfect spot for travelers to spend the night or for a family to spend a week. Fantastic complimentary breakfast in a Diner environment, great pools and very comfortable rooms.

All in all, the value offered at this hotel is huge ... At a fraction of the cost of the many chain hotels that we usually visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.