We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrongly treated!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Marina, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wrongly treated!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

After shopping around I booked a night here. Somehow, it was triple booked, but I caught it in time to cancel 2 w/o charges. I used a pre paid debit card to book the room. Nowhere does it state they don't accept them. When we got there the 1st time, room was not ready. An hr. later, still not ready. Finally, the room is ready & that's when they tell me I can't use the card. So I offer cash. They don't accept that either! So an hr & half of my vaca gone & need to find a place. The guy @ front desk suggests the place across the street or Motel 6. Place across the st. was gross! Right next to Motel 6 is The Sandpiper Inn who accepted my card or cash! Nice place. Pool, jacuzzi, breakfast & comfy beds. All the amenities of the other place, & cheaper! Guess it worked out for the best for me. After a bit of stress.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    296
    108
    43
    40
See reviews for
161
260
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Situated abit out the way , but there's a bus stop across the road that gets you to the transit center . Staff very friendly and helpfull . Can choose from a wide range of tasty breakfast options in a nicely set out diner . Both pool and hot tub areas were very nice and a pleasure to relax in . The hotel grounds in general are very pleasant with all the plants . Great value inn with very nice rooms which were always spotlessly clean . Can't fault the place !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

While this large motel met our needs - a place to sleep for a night - it is average and uninspiring in almost every way. From the somewhat dated rooms which provide just the basics (including a very poor shower), to the motel grounds and facilities, to the general service, it's all just going through the motions, with nothing much special.

It has what one needs, but little more.

Oh and watch out for the bed design (in our room at least): the protruding - and frankly, stupid - solid wood base caught our shins several times, and my wife's bruising is still showing a week later! As a bonus, the bed was pretty uncomfortable, too - much too hard and poor pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the street. The ones at the back of this large property are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We three stayed at The Sandman Inn for one night; May 7, 2013. I had made the reservation several weeks before and was told that we would have a room with two queen beds, a hall with a bath, and another room with one queen bed. We were traveling with a friend and we needed privacy. The room would cost $125 before tax. Unfortunately, when we arrived at 9pm, we were assigned to a room with a configuration that would have required our friend to go into our bedroom to get to the bathroom. Although Miles, the night manager, was courteous, the room we thought we would have had been rented because industry practice is to not block a room for a customer but to rent on first come basis.

Miles slightly discounted two separate rooms for us but the total was still $160 plus tax. We accepted and I talked with Camilia, the day manager the next day. She adjusted the rate to $125 for the two rooms since I had been promised the original configuration. That was very gracious of her.

The two rooms we were assigned; room 124 and 124, were excellent; and we all had a great night's sleep. In fact, the two rooms looked like they were just redecorated and had a ref., coffee pot, nice flat scree tv, and very comfortable beds.

The extended breakfast on site at Al's Diner was equally outstanding. The breakfast offered fresh fruit, fruit cups, yogurt, juice, coffee, cereal, microwavable sausage/egg biscuits, toast, etc. It was quite a spread and it was in a diner decorated with old style gas station memorabilia.

All in all, our visit at The Sandman Inn turned out great. But, it was frustrating at check in; however, Camellia came to the rescue the next day.

Room Tip: Room 125 is excellent for a couple that requires two queen beds. It is spotless with new carpet. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there for just one night but could be 1 week. Breakfast better than other hotels. Not so far from downtown, 6 min by car. The rooms are new. Park near the rooms. Santa Barbara is an amazing city to know if you are comming from rwy 1. You can stay there fore some hours or some days. The beaches are beautiful and have many places to eat fresh sea food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Everything about this reasonably-priced hotel is charming. The people are all outstanding - helpful, friendly, gracious. The room is contemporary, clean, and comfortable. The pools and whirlpool are perfect. Laundry room is functional. Complimentary breakfast is a delight, with several times more options than most hotels offer. Right on the highway - easy to find. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: I told the guy checking us in that I had a heel injury and selected a room near the pool, diner, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent our last night of our trip here, and had a good room and enjoyed the pool. Breakfast in the morning seemed to involve an awful lot of packaging - but there was a plentiful choice of different foods. Eating out in the local area was pretty uninspiring though - there seemed to be a lot of chain restaurants and the Mexican place we went seemed to prioritise volume over tastiness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.