We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Save Saved
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there for just one night but could be 1 week. Breakfast better than other hotels. Not so far from downtown, 6 min by car. The rooms are new. Park near the rooms. Santa Barbara is an amazing city to know if you are comming from rwy 1. You can stay there fore some hours or some days. The beaches are beautiful and have many places to eat fresh sea food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    254
    99
    40
    39
See reviews for
150
220
22
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Everything about this reasonably-priced hotel is charming. The people are all outstanding - helpful, friendly, gracious. The room is contemporary, clean, and comfortable. The pools and whirlpool are perfect. Laundry room is functional. Complimentary breakfast is a delight, with several times more options than most hotels offer. Right on the highway - easy to find. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: I told the guy checking us in that I had a heel injury and selected a room near the pool, diner, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent our last night of our trip here, and had a good room and enjoyed the pool. Breakfast in the morning seemed to involve an awful lot of packaging - but there was a plentiful choice of different foods. Eating out in the local area was pretty uninspiring though - there seemed to be a lot of chain restaurants and the Mexican place we went seemed to prioritise volume over tastiness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south staffs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Quiet clean, about 2 miles from centre of town. great breakfast room and food. This is a good break if driving the pacific coast as we did.The breakfast is pleantiful and in a really interesting room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster,Ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When we arrived it was after 9:00pm. Check in at that time was easy. When we got into the room carrying what we could carry from the car, we opened the door and reached at the wall for the light switch. We found a plastic wall plate, but it had no switch. So we started searching for the light switch. After much frustration we figured out that the only lights in the room were the separate ones next to the bed, and a free standing floor lamp. That seems like an oversight that should be corrected. The bed was o.k but it was set up on a big black wooden pedestal that extended around the outside of the bed by quite a bit. We found that you really had to pay attention when navigating the room to not stub your toe on it. As others have said, the decor was old and not really that attractive. The room was clean, and the amenities such as the pool were nice. We didn't eat breakfast there so we can't speak to that. The reason I say "I guess it was o.k" is because we paid $92.00 per night, and have seen that sometimes people pay more than that. And for those prices I would have expected more. But maybe because it's Santa Barbara, you are just going to pay more than what the room is really worth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sandman Inn for one night just recently. I took the recommendation from Trip advisor's reviewers and was not disappointed. This is really a first rate establishment with everything that a traveller would require - Two pools, great breakfast, convenient location and amazing staff. I would highly recommend the Sandman Inn to fellow travellers and would definitely stay there again if I was in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: We stayed in 351 which was really a two bedroom unit. Very quiet. The inn does not have a fitness ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Sandman Inn is a very good motel when you’re staying in Santa Barbara area. It has a place to eat breakfast called Al’s Diner that looks like a 50’s diner. It had 2 bedrooms in our room that we stayed in. It had music and movie décor in the motel. It's a cute place. Shower is noisy. Carpet is old. Overall, staff was very friendly, rates were reasonable, breakfast was included, and beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: 350 was a corner room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.