We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
new york city
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I think the pricing varies upon the night, vendor. For $100-$150 this place is fine. We paid $250, wayyyy too much. It's a motel! It's not luxury or boutiquey, it's way far from the beach and the breakfast is uber-processed American fare. I would consider all of that to be expected - if we paid half the price, but since we didn't, it was disappointing. I was expecting romantic and cozy, not blinds that didn't close, and neighbors who I could hear slamming their car doors at 6 am. 80s decor, but definitely clean. Again, it's fine, just not what I expected.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    296
    108
    43
    40
See reviews for
161
260
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Got a really great rate on bookings.com and stayed here for 4 nights. It is quite a way up State Street, so if you want to be within walking distance to the ocean, then this is not for you. Rooms seem to have been recently painted and the beds were comfortable if a little soft for my personal taste. Flat screen tv, pretty good wifi connection and a nice assortment of free toiletries. As ever with motels of this style, thin walls, but i didn't need to use my ear plugs, and i am a pretty light sleeper. A couple of small issues. There is a gap under the door, which meant I met ants, an ear wig and a couple of wood lice during my stay - this would be so easy to remedy. Also there was a fair bit of ground in food on my carpets from a previous guest. I saw the cleaner vacuum it, but that stuff needed to be washed out. The pools and jacuzzi looked nice, but it was a bit cold for me to take advantage of them this time. The breakfast in the faux 50s diner was really good: bread, English muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, 4 types of cereal, oatmeal, breakfast croissants...the list goes on! Really set me up for the day! The staff I met were friendly and helpful. All round a good budget motel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Found this on Hotels.com and price was matched as soon as shown. Rooms were clean & fresh and although this is a large place, our rooms were quiet as they were at the back. Really, really comfortable King beds! Used clean guest laundry. Bit far out of main district. Breakfast included was a highlight. Gorgeous little 50s diner replica with booths, red & chrome & lovely lady keeping it stocked. All the usual bagels, muffins, yoghurt, cereal, bread, tea & coffee. Boiled eggs were a nice change. The only issue was the inability to pay with travel prepaid credit card. They just would not accept it despite every other place in last 3 weeks having done so. Rate low enough to pay cash easily but still strange

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The rate should be $59! Our rate was $95. For $15-$20 more, we could have had a more superior room elsewhere. I will not let my kids take a bath in the tub. Dirty, old, loud, and I still can't believe the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtravelr2, Web consultant at The Sandman Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not find The Sandman to provide you with the value that we believe it provides.

You came during the Santa Barbara Film Festival, one of the top 5 film festivals in the world, and all of the Santa Barbara hotels were sold out for the weekend, and at a higher rate. Our price was one of the lower prices in the city, and the lowest price of any two time winner of the Trip Adviser award of Excellence, and winner of the LA times "Best Budget Hotel". Santa Barbara is a tourist town and therefore expensive, and we pride ourselves in providing a lot on a small budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I always like to be honest and look for at least one draw back to every place I stay. It maybe small, but no one is perfect. I may have met my match with this one. A recent trip to Cali, and I needed a place to stay for the night. I was not even supposed to be in Santa Barbara, but I was. Using a website, I searched for something near by and reasonably priced, and found The Sandman Inn. I am skeptical about the information that the hotel enters, and it is hard to read review on my cell phone, on the fly. So I decided based on price/location. Was I surprised. The place was spotless, the staff courteous (at 3 am in the morning), the bed was so comfortable that i over slept the next morning. The downside I found? te smoking area was 50 feet away from the door. Not really my problem, but the person I was with lol

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Found this place in one of teh coupon books we picked up along the way. As everybody we first tryed some of the ocean front places in Santa Barbara but as expected they had crappy old rooms for way to much a night. So we drove straight here expecting to find something basic but good price quality. We where very surprised that we got a great room next to the pool which they even let me use even do it was already time to put in the cleaning liquid.
The next morning after sleeping very good on the beds we had a great breakfast inthere vintage breakfast room. Jukebox neon sign and the whole lot was there. All and all great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A really nice place to stay for the money. Well landscaped grounds and nice pools (two). Front desk very friendly and helpful. Good continental breakfast and modern rooms. The only thing not so great was the shower stall which needed a remodel and was not up to the standard of the rest of the room. However, that is not enough to not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.