We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Save Saved
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We wanted to find a budget friendly place and the Sandman Inn fit the bill. It is close in proximity to downtown, but located in a quieter location. Clean and well-kept. Breakfast choices were good and loved the diner atmosphere. I would come here again. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    286
    110
    46
    41
See reviews for
143
212
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in Santa Barbara on the offseason, and were expecting expensive. The Sandman seemed like the cheapest hotel we could find. After getting there, I thought we could have probably gotten a better hotel, closer to downtown, for the same price. The room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom appeared iffy (a little grungy, the shower had chipped paint and was tricky). It was only 3 miles or so from the downtown area, and the staff was very friendly. The one qualm we had was that you could hear everything in the adjacent rooms- every cough and movement. One perk was that there was an IHome in the room, where we could charge our phones and play music/sleep sounds. We didn't love it, but it was just fine. The free breakfast was better than average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We came in to Santa Barbara for the Marathon Relay, so properties were booked. The Sandman was well priced and and very clean. Loved the retro feel paired with flat screen tvs, mini fridges and microwaves. The free continental breakfast in the diner was cute and had all of the basics - perfect to take the edge off before you start your adventures for the day. If you don't mind driving about 10 minutes into the downtown area, then this is a good option for a weekend getway at a good price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I highly recommend the Sandman Inn, it’s a nice motel with super friendly staff. The motel is a great value. The staff are always willing to help and be helpful, will spend many minutes with what ever the issue. I received great advice on sailing winds, whale watching and wine tasting.

The free breakfast was more than enough to get my day started. On our stay, you could choose from burritos, sausage sandwiches, cereal, bagels, toast and other items. My son found plenty to eat, which is what I care about.

I would definitely stay at the Sandman again, and will recommend it to my friends. I highly suggest you stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was on a tight budget and had to stay in Santa Barbara for 10 nights. Of course you get what you pay for but in fairness, the hotel was clean, I enjoyed the pool and being able to park right in front of your room. They even have a cute 50s type diner with a darn good breakfast included. The bathrooms need to be updated and they really do need new beds as in bed frames. I hurt myself on the wood frame as it sticks out farther than the mattress. I'm sure I'm not the only one this happened to. The mattress was too soft for me. I also enjoyed that the room had two doors; one to the car; the other to the pool. It made for a nice breeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the Halloween weekend because it seemed like a good deal, but it turned out to be a cheap motel. The first room they put us in had multiple red bugs crawling all over the sheets and a bigger beetle type bug. The woman in the lobby updated our room but I was completly grossed out by the bugs still! The new room seemed to have something like a rodent moving around in the ceiling and the fridge was way too loud. They needed a fan in the bathroom everytime we returned to the room it was musty from the showers we took earlier. Overall a gross experience. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandman28, Manager at The Sandman Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello Cortney 16,

I am very sorry that there were bugs in your room. We are very diligent about routinely spraying outside of the property, and ensuring the interior of all buildings are free of these little pests as well, but since we are surroundede by foliage, and so close to the mountains and the foothills, it's a challenge to keep up. Usually it's not a poblem, but the almost 90 degree weather of the past two weeks made it that much more difficult.
Again, I am truly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Actually it´s just another USA Motel, but surprisingly they offer free breakfast in a nice Diner, free WIFI, 2 nice little pools and a relaxing jacuzzi! Rooms are spacious. The staff is super friendly, special thanks to Matt at the reception! Location is at State Street which brings you direct into downtown and the beaches within a 10 minutes drive. And even the Santa Barbara Bowl isn´t that far away, good for me, since I was there because of the Bob Dylan concert! Would stay in this motel again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.