We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandman Inn

Save Saved
You added The Sandman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sandman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Aachen, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Actually it´s just another USA Motel, but surprisingly they offer free breakfast in a nice Diner, free WIFI, 2 nice little pools and a relaxing jacuzzi! Rooms are spacious. The staff is super friendly, special thanks to Matt at the reception! Location is at State Street which brings you direct into downtown and the beaches within a 10 minutes drive. And even the Santa Barbara Bowl isn´t that far away, good for me, since I was there because of the Bob Dylan concert! Would stay in this motel again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    287
    111
    46
    41
See reviews for
144
212
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Surprisingly nice cottage type rooms that were clean, included toiletries, updated and large.

Located on State St. in Santa Barbara but not in the direct touristy area made the visit even better. Just a short drive to just about anywhere from the beach to shopping, etc. Your visit also includes breakfast.

Great rates during the week.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the room, the staff, and the price. I was showing a horse at the Earl Warren Showgrounds and needed a place that was quiet, clean, comfortable, close to the venue, properly staffed -- and affordable. The Sandman Inn gets my vote on all qualifications. The property appears to be two older motels merged together and still has some '60's charm. The room was tidy and comfortable with A/C that worked quietly and well. Our room was right across from the pool and Jacuzzi -- what a blessing when you are tired and sore! The front office staff was sharp and service-oriented. I feel like I've finally found a great place to stay!

Room Tip: There is a cul-de-sac near the pool on the west side of the property. Very quiet and relaxed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've lived in Santa Barbara for 13 years, but I just discovered the Sandman Inn a few months back. I had family visiting, so we figured we'd try it out. After a 5 day stay it was decided that this would be the go to hotel moving forward. Great value, great rooms, nice pool, great 50's diner and a friendly staff. Definitely worth a try!

Room Tip: I preferred the pool side rooms because of their amenities, which included a fridge, flatscreen DVD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Every time we go to Santa Barbara we stay at the Sandman Inn. The staff is always very helpful and courteous and will go out of their way to see to your needs. The rooms are very nice and the pool and hot tub area have wonderful mountain views. Be sure to check out the complimentary breakfast in their new fifties styled breakfast room. Bring your dancing shoes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in The Sandman Inn for two nights as a stopover on the way to San Diego and I have to say the hotel and service were outstanding. The staff at reception were extremely friendly, polite and informative.
Our room was spotlessly clean, equipped with spare toothbrushes, toothpaste, shampoo etc.
The buffet style breakfast, which was included in the room price, was amazing and included cereal, a range of juices, eggs, pastries, bagels, pop tarts, cereal bars, fruit, waffles, breakfast burritos and sandwiches...the list goes on.
The two pools were really nice also and were kept really well.
Free juice and coffee was also available at a self service desk in the main lobby which was cool and there is also a complimentary DVD rental service with a great selection of DVDs!
There’s a shopping mall about five minutes down the street and also numerous restaurants on the same block as the Hotel. We took the bus to the beach, which took about 15-20 minutes.

We absolutely LOVED this place and didn't want to leave!! Would definitely recommend it to anyone coming to Santa Barbara!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Sandman Inn with my parents and daughter while moving my sister into UCSB. This quiet hotel was a great value for our budget (especially for the 2 room suite). The service was appreciated, the diner was wonderful (but could have been a little longer rather than closing at 10am. The continental breakfast was a unexpected surprise.

The only downfall I have was that the electronic key cards kept locking us out! We kept having to go back to the front desk to activate the key cards.

Room Tip: If traveling with a family request the 2 room suite. It'll have a bedroom attached to the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandman Inn

Address: 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandman Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Inn in Santa Barbara offers 112 non-smoking guestrooms, suites, and two-room family units on its 4.5 acre property, along with a large hot tub and two beautifully landscaped pools... The perfect choice on upper State Street in Santa Barbara, and always a great value.Guests experience a unique setting at the Sandman Inn. We are less than fifteen minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, local beaches, UCSB, Goleta, Montecito and all the attractions for which Santa Barbara is world famous. Stay with us and experience excellent customer service, unique rooms, a great free b-fast and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandman Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.