We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the Hotel Santabarat a” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Hotel Santabarat a”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A very comfortable hotel located in the heart of Santa Barbara, this older but elegant hotel is a little overpriced (as is everything in Santa Barbara). My queen-sized room was very small and had a less-than-impressive view of the lobby roof. I understand from a friend staying on the State Street side that that might have been a blessing because of the late night raucous caused by the continuous State Street party.

The room was nicely appointed but showing it's age a bit. Things like logo'd candies, welcome notes and robes do not a luxury hotel make. Although the lobby would certainly fit in the lower end of luxury, the rooms would not. Comfortable if small, yes; luxury - not even close.

The morning breakfast was noteworthy only for its pastries, otherwise I could have been eating at any hotel that offered the same fare and pretty lousy coffee.

The staff were friendly and accommodating and reinforced the special luxury "Hotel Santa Barbara" experienced that the hotel tries to promote. Ah, not so much. Just like Santa Barbara itself, an okay (if way California crazy) place to visit for two or three days. Not four.

Room Tip: Get an inner room away from State Street and the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
35
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is as it promotes itself. Historic, well decorated, friendly, and positioned perfectly on State Street. Just beware of last minute deals as those prices are on rooms closer to street and loud bar that goes late into night. I would recommend this hotel for its location convenience. Especially for those that wish to spend evening out late at clubs.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Barbara for a night in April 2015, whilst on our travels up the West coast on vacation.

The hotel was lovely; an historic and charming building in arguably the best location in all of Santa Barbara! Right on State Street, a couple minutes walk from the main pier and ocean, the hotel is perfectly positioned for you to enjoy both the shopping and food State Street has to offer, as well as the beauty and charm of the ocean.

The hotel is old (but well looked after) and the rooms a bit small, but we were absolutely fine with this as it was tastefully decorated, clean and everything worked perfectly. The age of the hotel added to its charm and spoke to the history of the town. In addition, a simple and yet appetizing continental breakfast went a long way towards making me feel that I got a good deal with a great hotel for the night.

A lovely base to set yourself up to enjoy the U.S. Riviera! Well priced and a lovely stay! Not the place to spend the entire holiday in your hotel room, but then again who would want to with all the beauty outside!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great hotel. Location on State Street among shops & restaurants.
Rooms had refrigerator, bottle water and coffeemaker. The bed was very comfortable.
Continental breakfast provided in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here a number of times over the years... it is great because it is reasonable and close to the train station, beach and a short walk to the main part of state street where all the action is. it is a bit of a walk to all the main stores and restaurants so wear comfy shoes but other than that it is great...(not that having to walk a bit isnt a good thing for your bod lol)...

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the ocean... or state street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Santa Barbara and we wanted a location near everything. Hotel Santa Barbara was that for us. We could easily walk to the beach, the Funk Zone, shopping galore, restaurants, and everything we wanted to do.

The hotel isn't fancy but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are very reasonably priced for the area. the WiFi in the room was not great but that was not a huge deal for us.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This is our kind of place- historic charm in the middle of all the action. Room was fine, elevator funky, breakfast ordinary but convenient. Can walk to restaurants, city hall, etc. and take shuttle down to the pier. Don't miss Brophy Brothers. They let us use their parking lot even after we checked out. Only hitch was the attitude of the young lady at check in. She was preoccupied with me not parking in front of the hotel during check in despite there being what appeared to me as a place to do just that. Other front desk help were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.