We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can walk or shuttle to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Can walk or shuttle to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our kind of place- historic charm in the middle of all the action. Room was fine, elevator funky, breakfast ordinary but convenient. Can walk to restaurants, city hall, etc. and take shuttle down to the pier. Don't miss Brophy Brothers. They let us use their parking lot even after we checked out. Only hitch was the attitude of the young lady at check in. She was preoccupied with me not parking in front of the hotel during check in despite there being what appeared to me as a place to do just that. Other front desk help were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    44
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
31
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location cannot be beat, the staff was friendly and professional, the onsite 10/day parking is very convenient and the room was comfortable and quiet (even though ours faced State Street). The breakfast was high carb, but yummy. Some of the common areas including the logo carpets and the elevator need a facelift. The room was adequate in size, but had limit storage; the closet could only hold the in-room refridgerator and some hanging clothes, so we had to leave our luggage out in the room. The bathroom is dated and small. It's clean, but neither cool and period nor modern and comfortble. It's late 80s. If it weren't for the bathroom, I'd recommend I without reservation. Next time in Santa Barbara, this hotel would be on my short list, but not an automatic choice.

Room Tip: 415 is quiet, even though it faces the streey
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The linnenes were great! The room is beautiful and recently updated. The sofa bed was fine for a teenager. The staff is freindly and lobby is lovely. Breakfast is OK. Great location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in SB for only one night and we wanted to stay somewhere central- this is definitely the place! It's perfectly located on State street, right in the middle of everything. It's even in walking distance of the wharf. The hotel itself is a standard, no frills place. But perfectly clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel while staying in Santa Barbara.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All was perfect. Spacious room (king; the queen rooms looked a little small ). Old style hotel well maintained. Decent breakfast Included in price of room. Not cheap but good value for money as the British say. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed at this hotel two weekends in a row recently due to family related business in the area. Santa Barbara is super pricey but this hotel is good value. Service is friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean, and despite the fact it is on State Street, if you request a room away from the street it will also be quiet. Another plus is the State Street location. You are in easy walking distance of many great shops and restaurants. So the fact that the hotel doesn't have a restaurant/bar doesn't really matter. Parking is directly behind the hotel and the $10 all day fee is reasonable. We will be staying here again when we need to return.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for a room away from State Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSB, Director of Sales at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us! We are pleased that you appreciated the Hotel's great downtown location and value. Rooms away from State Street are quieter on weekends. Our queen rooms are "cozy" in size and other room types are larger. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice small no frills hotel. In the best location to all bars and restaurants. Short stroll to beach and pier.

I booked a queen room and nice and comfy. Inward looking room which was fine however if you want a view outside better ask.

Nice free continental breakfast in foyer. If that isn't for you Starbucks in nearby or couple of bfast cafes.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSB, Director of Sales at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and charm. We do not promote our rooms as having views however our location is superb in the heart of downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.