We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for Santa Barbara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
South Pasadena, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great option for Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We've stayed at this hotel two weekends in a row recently due to family related business in the area. Santa Barbara is super pricey but this hotel is good value. Service is friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean, and despite the fact it is on State Street, if you request a room away from the street it will also be quiet. Another plus is the State Street location. You are in easy walking distance of many great shops and restaurants. So the fact that the hotel doesn't have a restaurant/bar doesn't really matter. Parking is directly behind the hotel and the $10 all day fee is reasonable. We will be staying here again when we need to return.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for a room away from State Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSB, Director of Sales at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us! We are pleased that you appreciated the Hotel's great downtown location and value. Rooms away from State Street are quieter on weekends. Our queen rooms are "cozy" in size and other room types are larger. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
27
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice small no frills hotel. In the best location to all bars and restaurants. Short stroll to beach and pier.

I booked a queen room and nice and comfy. Inward looking room which was fine however if you want a view outside better ask.

Nice free continental breakfast in foyer. If that isn't for you Starbucks in nearby or couple of bfast cafes.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSB, Director of Sales at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and charm. We do not promote our rooms as having views however our location is superb in the heart of downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is wonderful! The employees are so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Rooms are perfect. I looked and looked at all the different hotels in Santa Barbara from all price ranges and so glad we chose Hotel Santa Barbara. Thanks for the great experience! Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love Hotel Santa Barbara! We've stayed here 4 times over the past 3 years and we are never disappointed. The location is amazing, and the hotel itself is charming yet totally modern at the same time. The staff are always kind and the rooms are clean with comfy beds.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSB, Director of Sales at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your comments and for returning once again! We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's charm and friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were excellent, unfailingly helpful and professionial. My room was tidy and well appointed, however the stain on the carpet and a little peeling pain near the shower took away from the gracious atmosphere. Unless you are really picky, this hotel is a wondeful place to stay when you really, really want to be downtown and service matters to you. The service was fantastic, the free breakfast was good, the lobby is really lovely, and you can walk everywhere downtown.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSB, Director of Sales at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We took care of the minor maintenance issues as soon as you departed. We apologize and thank you for making us aware. We look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We could not be happier with our stay at Hotel Santa Barbara. This is our second stay, and simply have nothing but positive things to say. From check in to check out, we were delighted!
This is an old and historic building, but there is nothing that feels like it's in disrepair. Okay, the elevator was a bit slow. :-) we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Santa Barbara is a beautiful hotel located on state street. The location is great- right next to shops and less than a ten minute walk to the beach. Our room included a keurig which is always nice. Valet Parking is located right behind the hotel. Great location for a reasonable price (considering it is california). We paid $200 a night with included breakfast. Wifi wasn't the best, but with so many things to do in cali I didn't think it was that big of a deal. Loved the hotel and location. I would come back!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.