We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice very well-maintained older hotel in awesome in an awesome location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nice very well-maintained older hotel in awesome in an awesome location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Santa Barbara is in a fantastic location for wandering up and down State Street. Excellent shopping is within a few minutes walk to the North and the beach and pier are a 10 minute walk south.

The hotel itself is a little older - not sure of the exact age - but they have done a nice job of not letting it feel dated in a creepy way. Rooms are smaller than we are used to in the newer hotels and the TV's are still CRT-tube based, but honestly I wouldn't visit Santa Barbara just to sit in my room and watch TV.

The staff was very professional and friendly. Free wireless is available throughout the building. The free breakfast included fruits, cereal, pastries, coffee, juice, oatmeal, boiled eggs, and I believe I saw a waffle maker.

Also very close (10 minute walk) to the train station if you come that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    158
    46
    18
    19
See reviews for
59
131
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Location fantastic, can walk to wharf/harbour and lots of great restaurants just outside the door. Charming king bed room and an amazingly comfortable firm bed. Continental breakfast which was very good and free wifi and very welcoming staff made this a lovely start to our US holiday. Would not hesitate to recommend even to "picky" friends. Well done Hotel Santa Barbara and if we can will stay on our return to LA.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ended up here after not being able to get through the grapevine on our way home from Disneyland. They were great to accommodate us as a late night walk-in. Everyone including valet was very friendly. The staff gave us suggestions on the best places to go for a drink and for breakfast the next day. The rooms desperately need updating to fit in with it's location and exterior. But regardless, the price and the proximity to the shops and the beach is great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

this is now the 2nd time we celebrated our anniversary and our 4th visit at Santa Barbara Hotel again we were warmly greeted by Collin at the front desk....Michael took good care of our car... William said to come back soon when we checked out...Tricia at sales made sure our room is located in the area we requested with goodies awaiting in the room...how can we stay elsewhere if we're happily welcomed...the bed very comfy..pleasant room decor and very clean....lobby is very inviting with fresh coffee through out the day/night from a local coffee roaster...2 bottled water provided free... in room coffee maker with coffee/tea....free continental breakfast although freshly cooked oatmeal could be a welcome change....perfect location so closed to good restaurants...,cafe's... shops... movie theatre... beach...bus stop right outside...we can hardly wait for the upcoming "new room look" that could be in effect sometimes this summer 2013...perhaps it's time you stay at Santa Barbara Hotel to experience their marvelous hospitality.

Room Tip: room 218 is our new favorite...very quiet...easy access to stair or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

LOVE Hotel Santa Barbara. Typing this from our super comfy room and super comfy bed sad to leave after only a three night stay. This is our second stay and will not be our last.

Come to Santa Barbara often and have stayed at every price point. Santa Barbara is an expensive town to visit but we find Hotel Santa Barbara to be a great value and lovely. For this particular weekend (3 day) what we paid here we could have paid to stay at a motel in Goleta!

Valet parking is a value at $7. Never had to wait for our car and the valet guys are super nice.

Walking distance to EVERYWHERE fun in the heart of Santa Barbara. Blocks to beach, great shopping, and fabulous restaurants.

Lobby is gorgeous and gracious and hot coffee/tea/fresh fruit are always available. Wonderful old elevator with lots of charm. Everything is super clean.

Front desk people very helpful and very nice

Room is a great size and even without updates that are about to happen it is pleasantly decorated in creamy colors. Shower has great water. This is NOT a hotel chain. This is a old hotel with lots of charm and modern amenities. If you want standard cookie cutter modern hotel stay elsewhere. This is a very special hotel.

The whole hotel is sparkly clean always....everywhere! And loved the Valentines candy they left for us. And the fact that there are always two water bottles (no charge) in the bathroom.

Breakfast in the lobby was delicious.

This is a wonderful place to stay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing state Street have more interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a great hotel to stay at in the middle of State Street. Just steps away from great restaurants and bars, and two blocks away from El Paseo, the outdoor mall. There is a trolley stop across the street so that you can go up and down State Street with ease and also down to the Wharf. Whenever I am in town, I try to make my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked our room that faced State Street. You couldn't hear the street noise, but the view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nothing too, too fancy here, but very clean and very quiet (even on New Year's Eve!). We have stayed here a number of times when visiting Santa Barbara and the staff is always friendly and helpful, valet parking is only $7, and most everything (restaurants / shopping / water front) is within easy walking distance. A good value - with a modest breakfast of cereal, pastries, fruit, etc. included. At one time this hotel was at the end of redeveloped State Street, but now is surrounded by new restaurants and shops. We shall return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.