We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the heart of downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the heart of downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a great hotel to stay at in the middle of State Street. Just steps away from great restaurants and bars, and two blocks away from El Paseo, the outdoor mall. There is a trolley stop across the street so that you can go up and down State Street with ease and also down to the Wharf. Whenever I am in town, I try to make my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked our room that faced State Street. You couldn't hear the street noise, but the view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    167
    50
    22
    20
See reviews for
66
139
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nothing too, too fancy here, but very clean and very quiet (even on New Year's Eve!). We have stayed here a number of times when visiting Santa Barbara and the staff is always friendly and helpful, valet parking is only $7, and most everything (restaurants / shopping / water front) is within easy walking distance. A good value - with a modest breakfast of cereal, pastries, fruit, etc. included. At one time this hotel was at the end of redeveloped State Street, but now is surrounded by new restaurants and shops. We shall return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

was Perfect, and I chose it because it was 5 blocks from Amtrak station. Comfortable, quiet, old stylish, good service, all the very acceptable standards for a traveler. Antique elevator chews you up if you have bags, I did. Slept great, wifi, bathing, toilet, all very good. As always, wish my partner could enjoy the quiet, then the shopping, restaurants, and beautiful walking just available outside, though the streets are crazy at night why not? Booked the room online, $$$ then they doubled it at check-in for deposit...DOUBLED IT, then the clerk casually said it would be returned in 2-3 business days, and this was Friday night. Traveling close to the edge, completely unacceptable. Heading to LA the next day with money tied-up needlessly..oh I got it mid week, but they tied up taxes until 5 business days. Bottomline is negative, breakfast free but insufficient, -coffee next door for me.

Room Tip: higher the better for quiet, lower better to avoid elevator chew..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We passed through Santa Barbara as part of a two-week Californian road trip. This was such a lovely hotel and a highlight of the trip. Perfect location, beautiful rooms and great service. Little touches such as breakfast being included in the price and free wifi made it even better (we though both these things would come as standard, as they do in the UK but were wrong). All in all, excellent value for money and we'd love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I chose this hotel for its reasonable price and proximity to my business event Downtown, but would recommend it for anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Santa Barbara, within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants and shopping opportunities.

I reserved the least expensive room with a queen bed, and it was certainly spacious with nice furnishings, and a good sized bathroom. An enhanced Continental breakfast buffet (including some extras, such as hard-boiled eggs), free wifi, and round the clock coffee/tea in the lobby are included in the nightly rate. There is also a nice lobby with comfortable sitting to meet with clients or just hang out. Valet parking is only $7 per 24 hours. Very nice little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went to SB for a business meeting and stayed at this hotel for nearly two weeks. Very friendly staff. Hotel is small and the lift was sometimes out of order. Very clean. Right in the centre of the town. Beach is just 10min walk away. Room service was very good. Plenty of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Each time I visit Santa Barbara, my home away from home is always “Hotel Santa Barbara” with its wonderful hospitality and old time charm. My visits to the city are always because of their outstanding opera company which performs only a short walking distance away from the hotel. For many years I have gone with several of my opera friends to enjoy a week end of opera and the Hotel Santa Barbara with all of the comforts of home, make our stay a fabulous one. Located on the main street and walking distance to everything, it also has a tram stop at its front door that takes you everywhere.
We are always greeted with kind smiles and welcome backs from the associates. Our rooms are super clean and filled with all of the needed extras. Next to the reception desk is a table with fresh coffee, tea and fruit 24/7. In the morning a buffet breakfast is set up and well stocked with homemade waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, muffins, Danish, cereals, bagels and cream cheese. This is more than enough to satisfy the likes of all the guests. Fresh brewed coffee, teas, hot chocolate and cool juices are also there to enjoy.
Reading the morning news paper and enjoying my breakfast in their comfortable living room setting is what makes this my “little jewel box” of a hotel to always call my home while in Santa Barbara.
Dianna M. Penza
Mission Viejo, California

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.