We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Proximity to Shopping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Cruz
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfort, Proximity to Shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

was Perfect, and I chose it because it was 5 blocks from Amtrak station. Comfortable, quiet, old stylish, good service, all the very acceptable standards for a traveler. Antique elevator chews you up if you have bags, I did. Slept great, wifi, bathing, toilet, all very good. As always, wish my partner could enjoy the quiet, then the shopping, restaurants, and beautiful walking just available outside, though the streets are crazy at night why not? Booked the room online, $$$ then they doubled it at check-in for deposit...DOUBLED IT, then the clerk casually said it would be returned in 2-3 business days, and this was Friday night. Traveling close to the edge, completely unacceptable. Heading to LA the next day with money tied-up needlessly..oh I got it mid week, but they tied up taxes until 5 business days. Bottomline is negative, breakfast free but insufficient, -coffee next door for me.

Room Tip: higher the better for quiet, lower better to avoid elevator chew..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    166
    50
    21
    20
See reviews for
64
139
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We passed through Santa Barbara as part of a two-week Californian road trip. This was such a lovely hotel and a highlight of the trip. Perfect location, beautiful rooms and great service. Little touches such as breakfast being included in the price and free wifi made it even better (we though both these things would come as standard, as they do in the UK but were wrong). All in all, excellent value for money and we'd love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I chose this hotel for its reasonable price and proximity to my business event Downtown, but would recommend it for anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Santa Barbara, within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants and shopping opportunities.

I reserved the least expensive room with a queen bed, and it was certainly spacious with nice furnishings, and a good sized bathroom. An enhanced Continental breakfast buffet (including some extras, such as hard-boiled eggs), free wifi, and round the clock coffee/tea in the lobby are included in the nightly rate. There is also a nice lobby with comfortable sitting to meet with clients or just hang out. Valet parking is only $7 per 24 hours. Very nice little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went to SB for a business meeting and stayed at this hotel for nearly two weeks. Very friendly staff. Hotel is small and the lift was sometimes out of order. Very clean. Right in the centre of the town. Beach is just 10min walk away. Room service was very good. Plenty of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Each time I visit Santa Barbara, my home away from home is always “Hotel Santa Barbara” with its wonderful hospitality and old time charm. My visits to the city are always because of their outstanding opera company which performs only a short walking distance away from the hotel. For many years I have gone with several of my opera friends to enjoy a week end of opera and the Hotel Santa Barbara with all of the comforts of home, make our stay a fabulous one. Located on the main street and walking distance to everything, it also has a tram stop at its front door that takes you everywhere.
We are always greeted with kind smiles and welcome backs from the associates. Our rooms are super clean and filled with all of the needed extras. Next to the reception desk is a table with fresh coffee, tea and fruit 24/7. In the morning a buffet breakfast is set up and well stocked with homemade waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, muffins, Danish, cereals, bagels and cream cheese. This is more than enough to satisfy the likes of all the guests. Fresh brewed coffee, teas, hot chocolate and cool juices are also there to enjoy.
Reading the morning news paper and enjoying my breakfast in their comfortable living room setting is what makes this my “little jewel box” of a hotel to always call my home while in Santa Barbara.
Dianna M. Penza
Mission Viejo, California

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Back to Hotel Santa Barbara. Like before, had a wonderful time. The holiday decorations in the lobby are lovely and the hotel offers hot cider too. Nice touch. The location can't be beat.
My favorite Santa Barbara hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a delightful non-corporate hotel that has a great location on State Street. I stayed here to be close to Brooks Institute of Photography for a weekend class.

I stayed in room 316 and was turned-off by the musty smell of the room. Almost sickening smell... I opened the window (even during the rain) and closed the bathroom door, that seemed to help. I told the front desk and they suggested that it may be the drainage (perhaps they are aware of the problem) and I do recall that the shower and sink DID drain SLOWLY...

Due to the smell, I would not stay here again. If that were not an issue I would change the score from a two to a four for the location and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room I was in, #316 due to the drainage and musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.