We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I chose this hotel for its reasonable price and proximity to my business event Downtown, but would recommend it for anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Santa Barbara, within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants and shopping opportunities.

I reserved the least expensive room with a queen bed, and it was certainly spacious with nice furnishings, and a good sized bathroom. An enhanced Continental breakfast buffet (including some extras, such as hard-boiled eggs), free wifi, and round the clock coffee/tea in the lobby are included in the nightly rate. There is also a nice lobby with comfortable sitting to meet with clients or just hang out. Valet parking is only $7 per 24 hours. Very nice little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    147
    45
    17
    19
See reviews for
52
125
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went to SB for a business meeting and stayed at this hotel for nearly two weeks. Very friendly staff. Hotel is small and the lift was sometimes out of order. Very clean. Right in the centre of the town. Beach is just 10min walk away. Room service was very good. Plenty of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Each time I visit Santa Barbara, my home away from home is always “Hotel Santa Barbara” with its wonderful hospitality and old time charm. My visits to the city are always because of their outstanding opera company which performs only a short walking distance away from the hotel. For many years I have gone with several of my opera friends to enjoy a week end of opera and the Hotel Santa Barbara with all of the comforts of home, make our stay a fabulous one. Located on the main street and walking distance to everything, it also has a tram stop at its front door that takes you everywhere.
We are always greeted with kind smiles and welcome backs from the associates. Our rooms are super clean and filled with all of the needed extras. Next to the reception desk is a table with fresh coffee, tea and fruit 24/7. In the morning a buffet breakfast is set up and well stocked with homemade waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, muffins, Danish, cereals, bagels and cream cheese. This is more than enough to satisfy the likes of all the guests. Fresh brewed coffee, teas, hot chocolate and cool juices are also there to enjoy.
Reading the morning news paper and enjoying my breakfast in their comfortable living room setting is what makes this my “little jewel box” of a hotel to always call my home while in Santa Barbara.
Dianna M. Penza
Mission Viejo, California

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Back to Hotel Santa Barbara. Like before, had a wonderful time. The holiday decorations in the lobby are lovely and the hotel offers hot cider too. Nice touch. The location can't be beat.
My favorite Santa Barbara hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a delightful non-corporate hotel that has a great location on State Street. I stayed here to be close to Brooks Institute of Photography for a weekend class.

I stayed in room 316 and was turned-off by the musty smell of the room. Almost sickening smell... I opened the window (even during the rain) and closed the bathroom door, that seemed to help. I told the front desk and they suggested that it may be the drainage (perhaps they are aware of the problem) and I do recall that the shower and sink DID drain SLOWLY...

Due to the smell, I would not stay here again. If that were not an issue I would change the score from a two to a four for the location and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room I was in, #316 due to the drainage and musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Hotel Santa Barbara is a lovely hotel located right in the middle of things on State Street. The hotel has a beautiful lobby, polite staff, and an excellent buffet breakfast is served for guests in the lobby each morning which is simply wonderful. Valet parking is available behind the hotel for a reasonable rate, and all of the employees take good care of the cars.

The rooms are average-sized to rather small, and decorated in a classic style. Bathrooms are very nice. The hotel is located close to many shops and restaurants. Restaurants complete with full bars, hence the problem of drunk guests coming back late at night stomping their shoes on the tile steps from the first floor to the second and then shouting in the hallway to members of their party because they are too many sheets to the wind to know they are being too loud- or they just don't care.

Some guests are too far gone to remember where their room is, or to be able to read numbers, so they walk up and down the hallway pounding on doors in the middle of the night. Then there is the issue of the continued poor judgement of the guests once they arrive at their room. On the last night we spent at Hotel Santa Barbara we awoke to the sound of rain. We listened more closely. It wasn't raining. The sound we heard was water running through the ceiling tiles of our bathroom all over everything in our bathroom. We called the front desk. Someone came up to our room, looked into the bathroom at all of the water, and said, "I thought so" and left. About a half an hour later, the water stopped dripping. We then were free to clean everything up. (No one from the hotel contacted us again). When we inquired at the front desk that morning, we were told that someone had passed out in the bath with the water running.

If you are a sound sleeper, perhaps you won't notice these "inconveniences". And if you stay on the fourth floor, you will avoid the water issues and the stomping noises since the stairs are carpeted from the second floor upward. However, if you are a light sleeper, or are not fond of party animals, then you might want to think again before making a reservation.

I do hope that the hotel cleaned up all that water effectively. Mold is such a issue these days. Having a security guard walk around the hotel at night is probably a no-brainer.

Room Tip: Choose a fourth floor room to help ensure a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We read reviews of this hotel, but everything far exceeded our expectations. Collin, who took our reservation, was welcoming, efficient and actually seemed Pleased that we called to reserve our room. That was the first indication that we would enjoy this hotel. The room was lovely, the location was great - close to Art Museum, restaurants, and shopping. We didn't get back in the car for our time there. Continental breakfast is included, and it was very nice - fresh pastries, bagels,hardboiled eggs, yoghurt, cereals, and oatmeal. The hotel is beautifully decorated in old Spanish style. Besides all of the above, every staff member we saw was polite, kind, and well-informed about all aspects of the hotel and Santa Barbara. This hotel has five+ star service. My husband and I thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the hotel away from the main street, and it was perfectly quiet. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.