We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The service was friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little old, but kept up quite well. The room was comfortable and a fair size. The noise from the main street can get quite loud so would recommend a room facing the back of the hotel. Breakfast in the morning is good with fresh waffles. Location is very good, you are right on main street and about 15 minute walk from the beach.

Room Tip: A room not onto main street due to street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    139
    44
    17
    19
See reviews for
48
118
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chinook, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have stayed in Santa Barbara many time over the last 8 years to visit my children who attended college and now reside there with my grandson. In August I required surgery and needed some special assistance which the Management and Staff so graciously and readily provided. The Hotel is centrally located in the downtown close to great dining and stores. The beach and piers all within a short walk or trolly ride. Hands Down, the Best Place to Stay!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, wonderful staff, great rooms, nice morning breakfast and first rate customer service. We were able to see all the sights without a car while staying at Hotel Santa Barbara and used the trolley tour to see even more and learn about the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Santa Barbara and loved it. The hotel has maintained some of the building's historic elements, including a wonderful gated elevator, while integrating contemporary elements to meet modern expectations. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side but they are bright, clean and the smaller size feels more cozy than cramped. They have quiet hours from 10:00 p.m.-8:00 a.m., which are appreciated by anyone who has been woken in the middle of the night by loud neighbors. The free breakfast in the morning is a little spartan for my taste but to each their own. It's right in the middle of Santa Barbara and on some nights the street in front of the hotel is closed down for a farmer's market - so fun! Lots of great restaurants, bars and shops nearby. Overall, it was a great place to stay and I will definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I paid $219 per night for two nights at the Hotel Santa Barbara, after being checked in and seeing our room, we wish we could have stayed a week. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and bright. The bathroom was a bit small but very clean and suited us fine. The Breakfast was laid out in a buffet format we had the waffles and they were very delicious. We heard not to take the elevator so we walked the stairs but that was fine also. We came for the sites not the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here with my family for a quick one night trip to Solvang and Santa Barbara. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and quick to help. The place sits on State Street in the middle of all the restaurants and shops. The rooms are a little on the small side but, are clean and cute. Parking is only $7 a night. The continental breakfast they offer is typical of what you find at other hotels. Can't complain when it is free and satisfying. If you want something fancy, just head out to the street.

If we come out to Santa Barbara, we'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Well maintained and in good repair for an old building. Nice vinatge feel in its authentic splendor. As other reviews suggest, this place is directly on the main cooridor and easy walking distance to near-in sights and restaurants. Staff was excellent and supportive from the parking valet forward. Concerned with our comfort and familiar with great eats. Elevator is antique...very charming, but slow. Parking reasonable and in-and-out available. Room was normal size for old hotel. CLEAN and modern updates. Had street room having predicatable noise level...not too bad even with window open. remainder of hotel was QUIET. Yes, breakfast lacked adequate seating and replenishment. Nice stay, no surprises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.