We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as advertised - historic charm, contemporary comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly as advertised - historic charm, contemporary comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Santa Barbara and loved it. The hotel has maintained some of the building's historic elements, including a wonderful gated elevator, while integrating contemporary elements to meet modern expectations. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side but they are bright, clean and the smaller size feels more cozy than cramped. They have quiet hours from 10:00 p.m.-8:00 a.m., which are appreciated by anyone who has been woken in the middle of the night by loud neighbors. The free breakfast in the morning is a little spartan for my taste but to each their own. It's right in the middle of Santa Barbara and on some nights the street in front of the hotel is closed down for a farmer's market - so fun! Lots of great restaurants, bars and shops nearby. Overall, it was a great place to stay and I will definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    164
    50
    21
    20
See reviews for
64
137
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I paid $219 per night for two nights at the Hotel Santa Barbara, after being checked in and seeing our room, we wish we could have stayed a week. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and bright. The bathroom was a bit small but very clean and suited us fine. The Breakfast was laid out in a buffet format we had the waffles and they were very delicious. We heard not to take the elevator so we walked the stairs but that was fine also. We came for the sites not the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here with my family for a quick one night trip to Solvang and Santa Barbara. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and quick to help. The place sits on State Street in the middle of all the restaurants and shops. The rooms are a little on the small side but, are clean and cute. Parking is only $7 a night. The continental breakfast they offer is typical of what you find at other hotels. Can't complain when it is free and satisfying. If you want something fancy, just head out to the street.

If we come out to Santa Barbara, we'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Well maintained and in good repair for an old building. Nice vinatge feel in its authentic splendor. As other reviews suggest, this place is directly on the main cooridor and easy walking distance to near-in sights and restaurants. Staff was excellent and supportive from the parking valet forward. Concerned with our comfort and familiar with great eats. Elevator is antique...very charming, but slow. Parking reasonable and in-and-out available. Room was normal size for old hotel. CLEAN and modern updates. Had street room having predicatable noise level...not too bad even with window open. remainder of hotel was QUIET. Yes, breakfast lacked adequate seating and replenishment. Nice stay, no surprises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old but cute.
Pricey but perfect location.
Breakfast in included in the hotel price,
Just be sure to be there early, because one hour before closing down the buffet they run out of items and don't fill them up

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I love the location of the hotel and the staff. Great place to stay and links to many restaurants, pubs and also the beach is just 10 min walking only. I will definitely be back again next time. Hotel is decent but thanks to the location, I have access to good places every corner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been coming to the Hotel Santa Barbara for about 5 years now. Mainly cause it is centrally located in the heart of Santa Barbaras downtown. The rooms are really small and sometimes downright shabby, the lobby needs a re-do and the elevator is downright scary. There are way better hotels out there in Santa Barbara for the money. The best thing about this hotel is that you can park your car in the parking lot in the back (for a fee) and walk State Street all night.
The hotel is located near some really good restaurants, movie theatres, shopping and the Museum.
Having said all that, we will probably return at some point next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.