We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Avoided!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Avoided!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Whilst this property is conveniently situated for the main shopping street and restaurants, the attitude of the staff was woeful, the accommodation was basic [the sheets were not ironed & the room smelly], the trash is collected in a very noisy manner, seemingly every day well before 7am and I would defy anyone in rooms at the back of the hotel to sleep through the racket as indeed we were unable to do! As for breakfast.... well.... paper plates in the lobby, with you doing the tidying up about sums it up! Go out for breakfast and then you may enjoy yourself!
When complaints were raised they were brushed off in a disengenous manner. Unless all the rooms in the other hotels in town are full, do yourself a favour and do not contemplate staying here!

Room Tip: At the front you have traffic noise and party goers and at the rear the carpark & trash collecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    148
    45
    17
    19
See reviews for
53
125
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel is in a great spot near many restaurants, bars, and shops. It is also a short 10-15 minute walk to the beach and to the urban wine trail. The common areas of the hotel were nice and clean. The room we stayed in may have lacked the luxury of one of the more expensive hotels, but it was still quite nice. It was clean and everything (television, shower, etc.) worked well. The continental breakfast was a nice bonus. Overall, Hotel Santa Barbara is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

If you want to be able to walk State Street to the museums and take a morning stroll on the beach, this is the place to stay. We were only there for two nights midweek, but the staff was accommodating and friendly and valet parking a breeze. My husband and I literally parked our car and walked the rest of the time we were there. The only ride we took was in a cab to Brophy's on the wharf. That would have been a little far to hoof in the dark.

Someone mentioned quiet hours... They had signs posted, but to be honest, I never heard anyone or anything the entire time we were there, even though our room was right on the corner of State and Cota Streets. Breakfast was the standard continental breakfast, nothing special, but certainly plentiful if you were hungry.

This hotel is on the State Street block where a majority of the restaurants are, so if all you want is a comfortable bed and great food, Hotel Santa Barbara will be perfect for you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The OC, Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I took my wife up to Santa Barbara for her birthday. She'd never been in town before. We took the train from Orange County and were able to walk to the hotel within 10 minutes. The Hotel is right downtown and so close to the Art museum, shops and resturants. The Hotel has a great history and they've updated the rooms to modern conviences so our stay was very nice. The free breakfast was good but not elaborate. The prices for the room are excellent for the location to the town. I'd definately go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was a wonderful place, old style charm. The room was warm, clean, and tasteful. Right off the street, but I did not hear a sound. Thoughtful touches like signs asking people to respect 'quiet hours' and they did! The guy at the front desk even offered to give me a laptop to use in the room! I LOVED this place, and would highly recommend it to anyone. The internet booking was not helpful, but I got the room at a great price, anyway with AAA discount. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Hotel Santa Barbara is a wonderful hotel located in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara. It is a cross between a "boutique" hotel and a Euro influenced hotel. The location is perfect to enjoy all the shops and restaurants along and near State street.

Buyer Beware: The rooms are small, but charming and efficient. They are well planned out for their size, clean, and comfortable. If you are looking for a large room....keep looking.

The Hotel Santa Barbara does not have many amenities, it is just comfortable and welcoming. The policy of "Quiet Time" between 10 pm and 8 am was very welcome to this business traveler and made for a quiet nights sleep.

The parking valet system is efficient and reasonable and the valet's can double as "concierge". Their recommendations were spot on.

There is a Starbucks on the property and a number of specialty coffee locations nearby if interested.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night and enjoyed the ambience and feel of this beautiful old and graceful hotel. We were told that the hotel was built in 1926. The lobby, elevator, hallways and rooms harken back to a gentler time when travel was quiet and dignified. We booked the room/dinner package. Our dinner at Bouchon was excellent -- food and service were outstanding and only about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. If you are looking for a noisy and flashy hotel, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for an upscale hotel with a quiet ambience, you can't go wrong with the Hotel Santa Barbara. Breakfast in the lobby was charming. We did come downstairs quite late and the trays were a bit picked over; however, we had more than enough to eat before starting our day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.