We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Montecito Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Inn

Save Saved
You added Montecito Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming Montecito Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Montecito Inn is a lovely little hotel. We have stayed there several times,
most recently in early December 2012. The Inn has plenty of old world charm,
well-appointed rooms, a nice fitness center and a more-than-adequate
continental breakfast. There is also a coffee and water bar off the main lobby.
You can easily walk to a number of Montecito restaurants.
All in all, a great alternative to the hotels in Santa Barbara proper at
extremely reasonable prices for the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    94
    42
    23
    19
See reviews for
41
106
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Puget Sound
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here on our way from Monterey to a flight back home from LA. We really liked it. We had no reservation but called several places as we were driving -- the location and value at Montecito Inn seemed good so we went for it and were happy with the choice. Staff are friendly and efficient. On check in we were told about free bikes and breakfast, which we had not known about when we made the reservation. We had a nice dip in the heated pool and whirlpool the night we arrived and used the bikes for a ride the next morning to the pier in Santa Barbara and back. We ate in the restaurant the evening of arrival and enjoyed the food and service; breakfast was nothing to write home about but got us started on the day fine. Valet parking at no charge was a nice touch.

Great walking in the neighborhood to the shops and restaurants. Montecito keeps a low profile but seems to be a pretty well-heeled place.

Room Tip: Freeway noise could be a problem. We were in room 225 which has no view to speak of but was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent a week in Santa Barbara for training purpose (Feb 24 - Mar 2). Montecito Inn was the recommended hotel and the resulting experience was fantastic. The hotel is particularly beautiful and full of history remarked by the presence of Charles Chaplin in most of the halls and lobby. The location is perfectly inserted into a very nice and elegant neighborhood with nearby restaurants (Cava, China Palace, Los Arroyos, etc), shops, and gas stations. Relatively close to downtown. The staff is very professional and friendly. The service offered was excellent as well as the food. The Montecito Restaurant has not many options but the ones offered are delicious. The Bar also has an excellent service and wide variety of drinks and cocktails. Complimentary breakfast has good local pastries & coffee. Coffee/tea service in the lobby is 24/7. However, there are many other places where to have breakfast, lunch or dinner just across the street. The rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. Sometime I could hear some noise from the adjacent room but nothing really disturbing. No working AC in my room but winter travel should be fine in any room. Bed and pillows are very comfortable.
I would be able to strongly recommend this hotel if you travel to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the rear of hotel. Noise from the expressway 101 is relevant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for a week on business. As far as location, you can't beat it. Multiple restaurants within walking distance. The beach is about 3-4 blocks away. The only problem I had was the proximity to the freeway entrance. Street and freeway traffic noise was an issue. I can see never being able to sleep with the windows open, which is something that could be a problem in the warm spring and summer. The room I had was very small and also seemed to have very thin walls. I could hear the guest next door brushing his teeth. Service, I have to say was very good. I chose to move rooms due to the traffic noise and they offered to move my luggage while I was away to another room. Valet was quick and courteous. I never ate at the restaurant but, I heard it was very good. If you're staying just one or two nights it may be ok. Any more than that, I would prefer to stay at another location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the restaurant and on the corner by the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Montecito inn is overall GREAT location with 3 minutes walking from the beach and 10 minutes driving from the beaches, shopping districts, and historical sites of Santa Barbara. Parking is $8 although wifi is free (I think). Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and water are available 24/7 and a continental breakfast is included. The restaurant at the hotel is a MUST but is a little pricey. Be sure to get the coconut cake! Air conditioners in the rooms are currently being installed although no air condition was not a problem. Service was overall ok as they had given us the wrong room and we had to move rooms in-between the first and second night. The hotel is good for a few, but I would not bring families here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel, clean and in a wonderful area with free bike rentals and a restaurant attached BUT you can hear everything!! I was awoken many times through the night by other peoples cell phones, drunken conversations and dare I say it, BATHROOM visits. The area was very nice but still a distance from State Street, where everything is happening! The hallways smelled of skunk- no bueno. If I ever visit this area again, I think I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with more insulation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A friend suggested the Montecito Inn for our stay in the Santa Barbara area and we're glad that she did. It is a nice boutique hotel in a great location. It is great service and luxury all wrapped in nice setting. There is a coffee/tea station in the lobby area that is a very nice.

The rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. The property has been updated and is well maintained. Our bed was very comfortable,the linens and robes plush. The staff is professional, friendly and go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable.

The only down side to the property is the freeway and street noise. I recommend requesting a room to the front of the property at least the street noise dies down compared to the freeway noise to the rear of the property. During our stay a number of the rooms were being renovated and the window shuttlers were replacing the wndow treatments, so this will probably help with any noise.

Love this property already planning a return visit to the area and will stay here. I highly recommnend this proeprty.

Room Tip: Freeway traffic to the rear of the property and street traffic to the front. Suggest requesting a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.