We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Historic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
Montecito Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Lexington Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautifully Historic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel, clean and in a wonderful area with free bike rentals and a restaurant attached BUT you can hear everything!! I was awoken many times through the night by other peoples cell phones, drunken conversations and dare I say it, BATHROOM visits. The area was very nice but still a distance from State Street, where everything is happening! The hallways smelled of skunk- no bueno. If I ever visit this area again, I think I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with more insulation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    87
    36
    22
    18
See reviews for
35
95
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A friend suggested the Montecito Inn for our stay in the Santa Barbara area and we're glad that she did. It is a nice boutique hotel in a great location. It is great service and luxury all wrapped in nice setting. There is a coffee/tea station in the lobby area that is a very nice.

The rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. The property has been updated and is well maintained. Our bed was very comfortable,the linens and robes plush. The staff is professional, friendly and go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable.

The only down side to the property is the freeway and street noise. I recommend requesting a room to the front of the property at least the street noise dies down compared to the freeway noise to the rear of the property. During our stay a number of the rooms were being renovated and the window shuttlers were replacing the wndow treatments, so this will probably help with any noise.

Love this property already planning a return visit to the area and will stay here. I highly recommnend this proeprty.

Room Tip: Freeway traffic to the rear of the property and street traffic to the front. Suggest requesting a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We entered this charming, Meditteranean-style hotel and were immediately enchanted. The staff was pleasant, efficient, and did all the right things. Upon check-in, each guest receives a sheet of paper with the interesting history of the hotel and its' main investor, silent screen star Charlie Chaplin. The desk clerk apologized for not having our room ready but offered us room #316, a very nice upgrade to a 2 queen bedroom with 2 bathrooms. It was a unique setup as we each had our own entrance to the bathrooms and the room itself. The bathrooms didn't have alot of shelf space but were done in vibrant blue tile. The beds were high with plush, comfy mattresses. All the upscale toiletries had a Charlie Chaplin logo on the wrappers. The next morning, before departing, we enjoyed a lovely continental breakfast in a bright room overlooking the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I started staying at the Montecito Inn over twenty years ago. Located in the coastal village of Montecito, the restaurants and shopping alone are first class. The hotel has a very young and personable staff - extremely friendly and willing to accommodate.
Within walking distance to Butterfly Beach, directly across from the luxurious Biltmore Four Seasons Hotel, the Montecito Inn is priced very modestly for the amenities it provides including a modest continental breakfast. We go back two or three times a year and hope to for many years to come.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

WE LIKED & LOVED: Timeless architecture, cool history. Perfect location: nearby restaurants (Cava!), shops, gas station kitty corner, & beautiful views all around the area; ~10 minutes to the Red Tile district. Use of beach cruisers: easy rides to Butterfly Beach & Stearns Wharf (3 miles). Complimentary breakfast: good local pastries & coffee. Friendly staff: all - from the front desk, to an attentive valet with great recommendations, to sweet & helpful housekeepers. Elegant, understated decor in general: bonus - tiled stairwell & funky original elevator. Room: Comfortable bed. Quiet. Nice linens & fluffy terry robes. Pretty: lobbies & pool. Bath: strong water pressure, vintage-look faucet, adjustable magnifying mirror. Competitive pricing.
& NOT SO MUCH: Tiny room entry for 6'4" husband. Doors in bath area a tad dusty. No view from our room. Plastic soap dish. No shower fan. No time to check its award-winning house restaurant ;D~*

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of its external beauty and fame as a former property owned by Charlie Chaplin among others. There is Chaplin memorabilia everywhere on the property. The lights in the room never worked properly, and despite their attempts to fix them, they never did and never comped us for it. Also, the internet on their one computer in the "business" area didn't work, and they never fixed it, despite my telling the desk several times. The restaurant attached to the hotel is very nice, but they couldn't wait to scurry us out after lunch. The whole experiences was memorable but not in a positive way. The hotel is located near highway 101 which involves some nighttime noise, and the hall outside our room had cobblestone, so anyone walking by (esp. with a piece of luggage on while) raised a racket many times louder than expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

So let me start by saying I do love it here, but you must adjust your thinking to the genre of boutique hotels.
#1 only the suites have air conditioning (which is really ONLY an issue in the summer the air is cool due to the proximity of the ocean)
#2 there really are not any great views from any room -you are in downtown
Montecito
#3if you get a regular room it will be uncomfortably SMALL(the rooms on the balconys are larger and are very quaint), and the suites are very comfortable, clean, and dated (well kept, but very dated) I believe some of the multiple room suites are updated. Also do not get a room on the north side of the building you share an alley with a popular (and quite good) restaurant = noisy!
#4 if you eat at the hotel restaurant you must have the coconut cake it's amazing!
#5 you are only a 5minute walk to the beach!
All to say the city- you will fall in love with, and the hotel is very sweet! I would highly recommend it with the afore mentioned warnings!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontecitoInn, General Manager at Montecito Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We very much appreciate the constructive comments provided within this review. Interestingly enough, the review actually touched on a few things that the Inn is looking forward to in the coming months, so we felt it would be appropriate to offer a reply:

Beginning this week (of Monday, December 17), the Inn is proud to begin installing air conditioning throughout the entire hotel, including ALL rooms! Though it's true that air conditioning in the Santa Barbara area is mostly desired only during the summer months, it is nevertheless an amenity that one comes to expect of any fine hotel, no matter where the location. In a continual effort to provide our guests the very best service and product, we are very pleased to begin this project without delay, to be fully installed by February!

With regards to rooms with a view, though the views from certain rooms are limited, as is the case with any hotel, we do have several wonderful options for rooms with views that our guests have come to love. From our Mountain View Queen rooms with views of the local mountains and foothills to The Tower Suite with views of the mountains as well as the Channel Islands and Pacific Ocean to The Apartment with a private patio looking out to the mountains, our guests have a selection of rooms with a view that will surely add to the pleasure of any stay.

Being a historic building, though our standard rooms are quaint, they are perhaps the most well-appointed you'll find in the area, and our suites happen to be some of the largest in all of Santa Barbara. But, some very exciting news for Spring/Summer 2013: You might say, the Inn will be shining its shoes, tightening its bow tie, and putting on a brand new tux...a "soft" renovation that will include a newly appointed Lobby, a newly appointed Pool area, and the most thorough of upgrades, decor and technological, to all rooms and suites! Please visit and "like" our Facebook page in the coming months for must-see sneak-peeks of what promises to be an exciting transition, inspired by the elegance of a bygone era brought to life by a vision appropriate for today.

One last thing...that coconut cake at the Montecito Cafe definitely is a must-have!

Happy Holidays from all of us at the Montecito Inn!

Danny Copus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montecito Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montecito Inn to your Saves list