We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Inn to your Saves list
Montecito Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed our night at the Montecito Inn. We really liked the decor of the hotel and loved the boutique feel. However, the walls are thin in this hotel, so we could hear all the noise from the hallway and our neighbors early morning wake up call. This made it a lot more difficult to sleep in. The breakfast buffet was fully stocked. We enjoyed our night here and would recommend it to heavier sleepers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    102
    43
    26
    22
See reviews for
42
120
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
portland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I love this gem of a hotel, located within walking distance of lovely shops and restaurants in the lower Montecito neighborhood, so fashionable and fun! The rooms are very nice, quiet, and the simple breakfast and good coffee satisfies me. The hotel is well run, great service and you cannot do better if you are visiting friends in the area. I always feel like a local when I stay here. Grab your morning coffee, the paper, and sit by the pool, then take a walk and explore this enchanting village. When you return to the hotel in the evening, have a night cap, or dessert at the adjacent bar. I've stayed at the Inn three times over the past year and everyone from the valet to guest services, to housekeeping has been friendly and considerate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glocester, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really thought that this was a cute hotel right in Montecito and about 5 minutes away from Santa Barbara. It felt like something out of the movies. They have free breakfast in the morning and staff is very pleasant. The pool was nice as well. Montecito was cute and had some boutique shops. We did walk around, but didn't actually go into the stores. It has some nice restaurants as well, which was nice to walk to from our hotel. We went to Lucky's (right next door) for dinner. The one down side was that our room was a little stuffy--no air to put on, only ceiling fan. We were there on Oct. 31, when it wasn't really that hot out, so not sure if I would want to stay in the summer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrived in town early (2:20 pm) before the 3:00 check in and received a chilly reception and were asked to return at 3:00. We drove around the area until 3:05 and magically the valet and front desk gentlemen had put on their "we're happy to see you" personalities and made us feel welcome. The Tower Suite is a hike up 3 flights of stairs (I don't like elevators - especially OLD ones), down a covered outdoor walkway and then down a hallway. You enter a small living area with a not super-comfortable seating area with a flat screen TV on a storage unit that houses the mini bar that's already stocked with no room for your things. The bathroom is also on this level. Nice shower, tub, toilet and single sink. The bedroom is up 16 stairs plus a landing and is also a smallish area with a queen-sized bed. Keep this hike in mind if you're over 40 and get up in the night. The step out balconies were never used - you would only be letting in freeway noise or noise from the busy street out front. The views are pretty beyond the traffic of the mountains and a peak of ocean. Bring your white noise device and ear plugs for a peaceful sleep. We blew a fuse once when ironing clothes - had to call maintenance. The steam shower also had to be reset because of blowing a fuse - 3rd floor seems to have this problem. The pool area is small but lovely - a nice place to relax and read. The cruiser bikes are a very nice added amenity. We took them down to Butterfly beach twice which is a downhill coast (no peddling needed) for about 3 blocks and then up a lung bursting hill to the bike trail all the way into Santa Barbara which is a must - so beautiful! The ground level attached restaurant and bar were great for dinner or a nightcap. The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was actually really nice with yogurt, fruit, locally made pastries and good coffee. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay in a great location. Yes, traffic is noisy and you need to be in relatively good shape to handle all the stairs but those were the only true downsides to staying here.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C. The Tower Suite does have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed mid week off season and were surprised at the price. 109.00 It is a gem from another era. The room was all we needed except the bathroom was quite small. The one thing that is unbeatable is the old fashion service. Every employee was outstanding. The continental breakfast was a little light, but great coffee.
Beware of the water bottle lurking by the ice bucket. It had a tag on it, but my thirst and poor eyesight caused me to disregard it. Yes, at check out I was charged $4.oo for it. The irony was that I left 2 dt. pepsi's in the in-room frig.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The people here are the greatest. We had booked a tower suite (ocean view from bedroom) and when we arrived and say the room there was no way we would have enjoyed our stay. The bedroom was upstairs and the bathroom was downstairs. Since we are seniors this would not work. Kyle who was helping us and Yao Ntem the Front Desk and Concierge Supervisor went to work and relocated us to suite 402. This was a beautiful room and we enjoyed our stay more than several of the other hotels on this trip. I am not familiar with the regular rooms. We booked several months before our trip and the price was very reasonable. I will stay there next year if I find the same price. Kyle and Yao Ntem were wonderful. All of the staff were very nice and friendly. The ocean is about a 4 minute walk and so is the Biltmore. I will stay here again and again. Yao also recommende several places to eat in the neighborhood and they were Very good also.
PS the suites are airconditioned.

Room Tip: Look for specials and stay in one of the Suites. They are located on the 1st floor and do face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel does not have air conditioning in most rooms and their is no air flow. Their is no air in the lobby or restaurant either. It was extremely hot. The bathroom is the size of a closet and the mirror was about 12" by 12" . Not worth the high price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.