We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Eagle Inn to your Saves list
The Eagle Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   232 Natoma Ave., Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
LA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

My husband & I stayed one night at the Eagle Inn. We had gotten a giftcard for participating B&B's which the Eagle Inn accepted. Upon looking up their website, we noticed that there were not lots of pictures that gave us a good idea what the various rooms looked like. After checking out the web-based specials for rooms that went unbooked, we decided on the Deluxe King (w/fireplace & balcony) which cost us about $180/night. The room was on the 1st floor of the main building and seemed to have been recently remodeled. The bathroom was nicely redone too, though the amenities are a bit lacking (i.e. bring your own toothpaste, hair conditioner, shower gel). I tried taking a relaxing bath, but a few minutes into it, noticed that there were what looked like black pieces of caulk floating in my water (which cut my bath short). The decor of the bedroom is nice, but we thought the mattress was too soft for our liking. The only really annoying thing we found was that there was a LOT of street noise coming from outside--and in order to get fresh air into the room, we wanted to keep the patio door open. We decided to shut it after being kept awake by street noise after 11.30 pm. The next morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast which includes bagels, muffins, cereals, coffee & OJ. Overall, we think that the Eagle Inn is a fairly well-kept inn with an EXCELLENT location. However, we would not have booked it had we not had the gift card to off-set the cost it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overpriced for what you get
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    239
    54
    26
    11
See reviews for
113
706
50
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

We picked the Eagle Inn based on price and location and were not disappointed. Location is off the main drag, which is nice. It's basically a converted house.

We arrived early, parked in their lot, and then took our bikes along beach bike path and then around downtown Santa Barbara. Definitely a bike-friendly town! Check in a 3 was no hassle. We cabbed to Santa Barbara Bowl for about $13 each way later that evening.

We stayed in room 220, the "queen veranda." worth the extra $$ from a regular 'ol queen because you get a large deck with a table/umbrella/chairs and two lounge chairs. It seemed to have doubled the size of the room! We brought our free breakfast up to the room and enjoyed it in the morning sun.

There are two wine tasting rooms in walking distance of the Eagle Inn, so that's a good, nearby activity.

What else about the room? Bathroom was small but clean. Shower had two showerheads spraying at you from opposite sides. There was a little fridge, no sink, a fireplace, am/fm radio, and closet. Not the most modern decor but typical for a B&B.

Also, we locked our bikes up behind the building and they were safely there in the morning. Didn't have much interaction with the staff, but they seemed willing and able to help if we needed (they didn't know where the SB Bowl was, which was strange.)

We got a AAA discount, which apparantly only works Sun-Thurs. Luckily we were there on a Sunday night.

Would return for another tranquil stay if in SB again.

  • Liked — Large veranda
  • Disliked — Dated decor, pricey (but everything's pricey in Santa Barbara)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

We had a room with two king beds reserved for three nights for self , wife and 17year old son. When we arrived, the front desk clerk asked us if we would prefer The Santa Cruz Cottage with a bedroom, a separate living room with sofa bed for our son and a small kitchen. She thought that we would be more comfortable with our son in a different bedroom from us and of course she was right. The cost difference was only a few dollars and it was well worth it. The cottage was separate from the main building. It was very well decorated modern and clean. The bedroom had a large Jaccuzi tub in it as well as having a very nice separate fully tiled bathroom.
The location of the inn was great, we didn’t need our car to do the tourist stuff but we did need it when we went to visit the university about 8 miles away.
If our son does get accepted into UCSB next year we will definitely stay at the Eagle Inn again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

My friend and I just returned from a fabulous weekend
in Santa Barbara. I had searched through tripadvisor
for weeks, trying to find the perfect place to stay. I have
difficulty sleeping in hotels since you either have people
walking above you or very thin walls. I wanted to try a B & B
but wanted privacy. We stayed in the San Miguel cottage at
the Eagle Inn and couldn't have been happier. It was like having our own little house! Never heard anyone. I am not sure how the
main house is as far as noise, privacy, etc. but they have a couple of cottages to choose from and the one we were in really
was perfect.

  • Liked — The privacy the cottage provided
  • Disliked — Continental Breakfast could have been a little better
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

The Inn itself was nice, located easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants. Off street parking. The room (2nd floor) we had was fairly nice, 2 Queens, updated, the bathroom had a very small shower, but it was doable. Beds were as expected within this price range. The issue that we had is that the room was very warm. We visited in June, the temperatures were in the low 70s during the days, probably in the 50s at night. We had the windows open and the room fan on all night, and still slept on top of the covers/with light sheet. Note: we come from an area that has daytime and nightime temperatures 10-20 degrees warmer than Santa Barbara and so are not heat intolerant. We were on the second floor, perhaps request the first floor if you think this will be an issue for you. We did note this to the Inn staff after the first night and they did provide us with an additional fan, however, it did not make a difference on the second, night. They do have at least a few rooms with AC, if you think this might be an issue, you might request one. Otherwise, this is a great central place to enjoy Santa Barbara.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The (warm) temperature in the room at all times
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

This was my first visit to Santa Barbara. I researched the hotels and Inns for weeks and decided on the Eagle Inn because of the Whirlpool Jacuzzi Tub for two and the great reviews they received. I was not disappointed. The Inn is located on a quiet residential street, it has a charming ambience. We stayed in Room 105, Deluxe King with fireplace and Whirlpool Jacuzzi. I loved everything about the room, from the private balcony to the elegantly folded towels in the bathroom. It was very quiet with a relaxing atmosphere. Everything seemed recently renovated and was clean. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful, they provided printed directions to resturants on request. The maid service was very accomodating when I asked it she would show me how she folded the towels. The next day our towels were folded in another lovely design. The continential breakfast offered a variety of fresh fruits, bagels, pastries, juice and coffee. The Eagle Inn is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing getaway.

  • Liked — Decor and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

Stayed two nights in Room 210, Deluxe King with Jacuzzi, with its own double french doors, balcony, brand new bathroom, fireplace. Exactly the same room as the one shown in their brochures and on the web. Truly charming, very large room (a large studio really), and a very good breeze coming in through windows on two sides. This building is historic from the 20's so you can't expect terrific soundproofing. We stayed midweek, so maybe people are quieter than on weekends, hard to say. It was SO quiet... the trains were not a problem at all because the tracks are far enough away that you really aren't disturbed by them. The room is directly above the breakfast room, so some might be bothered by hearing the faint sounds of music and someone setting up the food service at 7am. I didn't really notice that much either. Another reviewer complained about paper cups and plates at breakfast, but that doesn't seem to be true anymore: nice ceramic bowls, plates and coffee cups. Really good selection of fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels and what looked like locally made breakfast pastries. Excellent breakfast. I can hardly wait to come back and try one of the self-contained cottages. Lived in SB in the 1980's and like coming back occasionally to enjoy its charm and fantastic ambience. As SB hotels go, the price is really a good value. The cost of lodging in SB is truly epic so it's nice to come across a truly charming place with decent service and amenities. Easy to just walk everywhere from here, or catch the trolley on State. My only complaint was the pillows were terrible... so many hotels don't spend the money on decent, comfortable pillows which can make the experience so much better. I hope the Eagle Inn invests in better pillows, but I'll just bring my own next time just in case.

  • Liked — Charming ambience, room quality and size, location
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave., Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eagle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.