We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming retreat from the glitz of Califiornia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Save Saved
You added The Upham Hotel & Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10-25% Off Room Rate
Ranked #13 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A charming retreat from the glitz of Califiornia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although it is quite a walk to the beach, it was easy enough to reach on the bus, and we enjoyed being slightly away from the crowds. The Upham is old school and quaint so if you like everything brand new and shiny, it might not be for you. But we loved it and our stay was relaxing and comfortable. The public areas, both inside and the courtyard garden are very pretty and refreshments are served in the afternoon. We didn't have any trouble parking at the hotel but once at the hotel we didn't use the car much as Santa Barbara is such a marvellous place to stroll around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    103
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
29
192
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Country House and sad to say would never stay there again. Truly disappointed with the room. Dark, dingy and filthy! When we mentioned this to the reception at the hotel she said "we can send down some light bulbs to brighten it up". Quite an insult. They tried to tell us that the Country House was old and more antique than the hotel. Old but not a bit antique and just grubby. The bath taps were antique but I was able to scrape the ground in dirt off. The rug and chair covers old and dirty. Flowers which were almost dead and in very stagnant offensive smelling water. Very busy road which was quite disturbing. I thought the room was quite expensive, in comparison to many other stops on our trip, and by far the worst room we stayed in during our California holiday. In fairness they did refund half of the costs which helped a little. The breakfast was very good. The location very good for Main Street Santa Barbara and easy to walk to lots of restaurants and shops. If they could clean up the act on the room it would be a different story.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSantaBarbara, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are greatly surprised to receive this review. We have extended our most genuine apologies to this guest and are terribly sorry to hear of such disappointment in our property. Upon learning of this guest's extreme dissatisfaction, our staff offered to refund the guest's room deposit and to make alternate reservations here in Santa Barbara but they chose to stay with us instead. We were pleased to hear after their departure and further email communication, that they would be willing to give the Upham Hotel another try should their travels bring them back to Santa Barbara. We were shocked to see this review as we had thought the issue had been amicably resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were only here for one night on a trip up the California coast but would have loved to stay longer. The hotel exudes natural charm - small, attentive, lovely outdoor areas, coffee/tea/water always available. Continental breakfast was very nice, and the in-house restaurant had a nice menu, plenty of variety, outdoor seating and good food. The location is off the beaten path - which we loved - but plenty close to walk, just a couple of blocks from State and maybe 20 easy minutes from the beach. Although the property is not new, it is well maintained with everything in good order. And - the hottest hotel water we've ever had!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort myers
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If quaint and charming were all that was required of a B&B, this would absolutely fit the bill. However, as with other independent accommodations, there are usually issues in the maintenance department, to include trying to get by with equipment that, while not non-functioning, really should be replaced. At the Upham, the window AC units are quite loud (thankfully not needed all that much), and some of the furnishings and soft goods, while they fit with the old-timey ambiance, are just downright worn and used. The breakfast was nice, as was taking it on the patio (more outdoor seating with tables would be great, since it's so beautiful!). Parking was difficult, so I was inclined to walk where I could so as not to have to troll for a space upon my return. While I enjoyed this facility, I will likely try another when back in Sta Barbara.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage closest to lobby, steps away from the central courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Charming bed and breakfast atmosphere. Continental breakfast was served in the morning. Wine and cheese was served in the late afternoon but we weren't there for that. Centrally located close to good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Upham in their smallest room, a bungalow queen (Lotus #41) for five nights in early July. This was our first stay here, in the past we have stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn but wanted to try a less expensive option (our room was $225 per night compared to the Spanish Garden prices of around $400). All in all, we liked the Upham very much but the Spanish Garden even more...positives for the Upham were the price, the beautiful garden, nice little perks like the breakfast, wine and cookies, and we really liked the location. Several mornings we skipped breakfast there and walked a couple of blocks to State Street to Renaud's for their great almond croissants and coffee. A few negatives include a musty smell to our room, it was very damp, probably because of the June gloom that was lingering into July. We found if we left the AC on all day it would help dry the room out...but the AC is a noisy window unit so we turned it off at night. The wall separating our room from the next must have been paper thin, because we could hear the couple talking and they weren't raising their voices...but that was ok, since that room wasn't occupied all five nights of our stay. Parking is a problem, especially because they seem to do some sort of business meeting business during the day, bringing a lot of non hotel guests, with their cars, to the space. We were lucky, but a really nice mother/daughter couple we met there from Phoenix said they were told to park on the street, and had to move their car in the morning, when they couldn't find a space. Spanish Garden has limited parking too, but they do have enough spots for their guests. So I have mixed feelings...I'd definitely come back for the location and price, but will ask for a better room next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon arrival we were disappointed with the so-called quaintness of the bungalow and toughed it out. The inn is in such disrepair relative to what we aid for. The room had a terrible stench of humidity and the shower made the bathroom so wet the steam hung in the air and I couldn't use the mirrors. You just can't trust the pictures. There are better places as we found out during our trips into town. I have stayed at other BBs--they need to reinvest the income. Ratty furniture and dingy bedding. Disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We would like to extend our very sincere apologies to the reviewer for their disappointment. Sadly, we did not know of their extreme displeasure as we would have been happy to move them to a more pleasing accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upham Hotel & Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.