We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upham Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Upham Hotel & Country House to your Saves list
The Upham Hotel & Country House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Upham Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Charming bed and breakfast atmosphere. Continental breakfast was served in the morning. Wine and cheese was served in the late afternoon but we weren't there for that. Centrally located close to good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    131
    47
    21
    10
See reviews for
49
243
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Upham in their smallest room, a bungalow queen (Lotus #41) for five nights in early July. This was our first stay here, in the past we have stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn but wanted to try a less expensive option (our room was $225 per night compared to the Spanish Garden prices of around $400). All in all, we liked the Upham very much but the Spanish Garden even more...positives for the Upham were the price, the beautiful garden, nice little perks like the breakfast, wine and cookies, and we really liked the location. Several mornings we skipped breakfast there and walked a couple of blocks to State Street to Renaud's for their great almond croissants and coffee. A few negatives include a musty smell to our room, it was very damp, probably because of the June gloom that was lingering into July. We found if we left the AC on all day it would help dry the room out...but the AC is a noisy window unit so we turned it off at night. The wall separating our room from the next must have been paper thin, because we could hear the couple talking and they weren't raising their voices...but that was ok, since that room wasn't occupied all five nights of our stay. Parking is a problem, especially because they seem to do some sort of business meeting business during the day, bringing a lot of non hotel guests, with their cars, to the space. We were lucky, but a really nice mother/daughter couple we met there from Phoenix said they were told to park on the street, and had to move their car in the morning, when they couldn't find a space. Spanish Garden has limited parking too, but they do have enough spots for their guests. So I have mixed feelings...I'd definitely come back for the location and price, but will ask for a better room next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon arrival we were disappointed with the so-called quaintness of the bungalow and toughed it out. The inn is in such disrepair relative to what we aid for. The room had a terrible stench of humidity and the shower made the bathroom so wet the steam hung in the air and I couldn't use the mirrors. You just can't trust the pictures. There are better places as we found out during our trips into town. I have stayed at other BBs--they need to reinvest the income. Ratty furniture and dingy bedding. Disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We would like to extend our very sincere apologies to the reviewer for their disappointment. Sadly, we did not know of their extreme displeasure as we would have been happy to move them to a more pleasing accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
340 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Friends from Florida were booked at The Upham to attend a business conference. At the last minute we decided to join them for a couple days. Because the main hotel has only 50 rooms, pickings were slim. We elected to stay at the Country House Inn in order to get a king size bed.

My mixed emotions start there. As I was later to find out, the Country House Inn was an existing B&B when the owners of The Upham purchased it in 2000. Registration is at The Upham, but all other services are in this building. Case in point, instead of a hotel staff supporting 50 rooms like at The Upham, we have innkeeper (Maureen) overseeing 8 rooms. Instead of the cold continental breakfast buffet at The Upham, we get to choose a hot entree of either scrambled eggs or the entree du jour (in our three days it was quiche Lorraine, "fluffy" pancakes and shrimp crepes) whipped up by Maureen. Instead of the Oreo's served by tradition at The Upham, we get fresh baked cookies by.....Maureen!

We did spend some time at The Upham. In fact we had dinner at Louise's the first night and wine & cheese in our friends courtyard. Their room was gorgeous with a separate bedroom and living room, a soaker tub and the privacy of their own gated patio. But where they could expense their upscale room, our tastes ran to simply getting a king size bed.

Our room was more than nice. it had a wood burning fireplace that would be a nice feature in winter. It has a jetted Jacuzzi tub that we did not make use of. We had a view (see pictures) out the back of the house and could keep the doors open in the morning to let in the cool air and the cheery bird calls. But the room was worn in spots and I am not sure we had air conditioning (we never tried to use it). More than adequate for our needs but not to be confused with what we saw at The Upham.

Both facilities seem to have problems with parking. Our building only had 7 parking spots despite having 8 rooms. I am told this is rarely a problem because not everyone has a car. Even so I was disturbed to see some of the employees of The Upham breeze in like they owned the place, allegedly with full knowledge of management, because "Thursday is street sweeping day." Yeah, well what about me, the fare paying guest?

By now you can tell the beauty of the Country House Inn is Maureen (or the person she was training while we were there). She came on board in 2000 when The Upham purchased the inn. She spends a good part of the day baking for both this facility and the needs of Louise's at The Upham. She still finds time to say hello, put out breakfast in the morning, cheese & crackers in the afternoon and leave a plate full of cookies every evening. My emotions may be mixed but Maureen I am certain of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at The Upham for one night in June. The property is lovely with a historic look and feel. We stayed in a bungalow queen and it was really lovely. This was one of the smallest rooms they offer but it wasn't small at all. It had a private terrace with double doors. Even though we were only staying for one night it was really nice to have some outside space. The double doors made the room feel very light and airy. The room also had a wall mounted flat screen TV.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located just a few blocks from State St so downtown is within easy walking distance and the harbour is about a mile away. A shuttle trolley runs up and down State St to/from the harbour area and cost $0.50 per ride if you don't feel like walking.

Breakfast was the usual cereals, fruit, pastries, toast etc but there was a decent selection to choose from. Complimentary wine, lemonade and nibbles are available between 4pm and 7pm in the lobby and after dinner cookies and milk are available.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Upham and were disappointed that we were not staying for longer. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The Upham is a great hotel in a super location.The room we had was a little tired and the bathroom had hairs from previous guests which was a bit off putting. We didn't manage to put off the light on the balcony or block it out of the room. The air conditioning was noisy. The staff were lovely and the place had the look of the historical landmark that it is. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am actually here for a meeting. The facilities are great and the staff are amazing. I am now imagining coming back here to visit for pure vacation and enjoy the ambience of the Upham. Be sure to wake up for the free substantial breakfast in the morning. Between 4 and 7 pm, help yourself to wine, cheese and crackers. And before you take off for slumber land, enjoy the milk and cookies to help you sleep. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upham Hotel & Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.