We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Pleasant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Upham Hotel & Country House to your Saves list
The Upham Hotel & Country House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10-25% Off Room Rate
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Solvang, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Most Pleasant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at this property on numerous occasions and find it consistent and enjoyable. The grounds and buildings are spotless and very nicely decorated. The buildings have retained their charm from decades past yet seem solid and well maintained. The colors and decorating are sophisticated and highlight the original architectural design. The rooms are spread out between several buildings with walkways/paths between them. Be sure and take advantage of the wonderful Louie's Restaurant off the lobby in the main building. Regardless of where you eat sit in front of the gas fire at the end of the day and have an Oreo cookie and glass of milk -- charming! Walk to the Arlington Theatre just a block away for a live performance or to the nightclub SoHo for live music with or without dinner, your choice. Walk to Santa Barbara Museum of Art (lovely museum and gift shop and small but yummy luncheon restaurant) or Paseo Nuevo (Nordstroms and Macys are the flagships there) high end shopping mall six or so blocks away. If you are wanting a bit more of a walk you can continue on down to the beach and pier! Traditional cabs or pedi (bicycle) cabs available also. And get ready, so many restaurants to choose from! One of our favorites (besides Louis's) is Opal, just below the Arlington Theatre. Other favorites include Blue Agave (try their Mezcal [high end agave beverage] with their authentic Oaxacan chicken mole "To Die For!". Or if you are in the mood for Cajun right next door to Blue Agave is the very popular and fun Palace Cafe -- super friendly service and great food! When you are done come back to enjoy a comfortable and quiet sleep, My husband and I have only stayed in the various building on the main property which we highly recommend, so I cannot comment on the Country House Inn that other reviewers mention. I predict you will want to come back here again! If the property had a hot tub (which it seems to me they could most easily place in the garden) I would have rated it Excellent. But don't let that stop you, we know you will enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: The hotel's location is one and a half blocks off the main commerce area (State Street) so we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    125
    46
    20
    10
See reviews for
43
230
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was interested in staying at this bed an breakfast after dining at the in house restaurant. The grounds are small but beautiful and well kept. It is within walking distance to downtown SB, but parking is a bit tight. Unfortunately, the heat/AC is of the window box variety, noisy and inefficient. Room was pleasant enough, clean, bright and small. Robes were a nice touch, as well as the adjoining patio. But with narrow grounds close to parking, the 5 a.m. trash pickup and conversations in the lot were quite noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the Upham, and both times have been wonderful experiences overall! The Staff members are super friendly and helpful....and trustworthy - I left my iPad Mini in my room and the Upham called me right away and mailed it to me! The Inn is lovely and I especially like sitting in the adirondack chairs in their gardens. Each night they put out complimentary wine and cheese which is a nice touch. The restaurant (separate owner but located in the Inn) is excellent! I also love that the Upham is only a 2 block walk to the main street. I prefer staying in the cottages vs. the main hotel, but both were great. All is all, a great place, with charm and character.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are a bit noisier due to street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when I came up for business and spent the weekend after my meeting. We stayed in the Country Inn house across the street and down the block from the Upham but which is linked to it. It's a funky old Victorian house B&B. Because of age of the house the rooms are a bit small and can be a little weird. Our room (the Nicole) had the sink outside the toilet/shower room on the other side of the room from them! From our experience you are better off booking into one of the rooms with a complete bath/sink/shower ensemble together. The shower was also iffy in terms of regulating temperature--easy to scold or freeze yourself unless you got exactly the right spot on the dial. Breakfasts were mixed. Not much choice on hot part--whatever they are doing that morning (for example, spinach crepes or pancakes etc) or scrambled eggs (with or without cheese). Eggs were ok but not great. Choice of cereals or not very good yoghurt (Yoplait--come on, really? With Trader Joe's around?). On the other hand the crumb cake one morning was really good. There is wine and simple cheese in the afternoons and cookies for guests too. Inkeepers are nice and helpful without being intrusive. Good service. Quiet generally (although creaking stairs and sometimes footsteps in penthouse above us), pleasant garden with deck eating. Just 2 blocks from State St and lots of restaurants and shopping. If you want a really good hotel you can go to the Inn of the Spanish Garden which is lovely but pay a lot more. For half that price, this is a good alternative.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with sink not part of the toilet/shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are a mature couple who love to go to Santa Barbara Symphony performances on Sunday afternoons. We like to arrive early at the Upham. Even if our room isn't ready, we've been invited to help ourselves to breakfast items and enjoy the lounge. We typically walk down State Street and enjoy shopping and the fresh air. Then we go back and check into our room, get settled, and walk over to the Granada Theatre for the concert. After that, wine and cheese, dinner at Louie's, followed by milk and cookies (we're usually too full for that!) The next morning we enjoy a leisurely breakfast and head to the Botanic Garden for a walk. This makes a perfect weekend for us! We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Country Inn owned by the Upham is where 4 of us stayed. Two of us booked the Penthouse to have more room. It was $475 per night, and we got it discounted at $425. I still felt it was very overpriced and not a good value. We were not able to control our temperature in the room and the main sitting area in the general living room downstairs was cold too.

The Innkeeper was wonderful and cooked us fantastic hot breakfast, wine and appetizers in the afternoon were great and nice freshly baked cookies and breakfast breads. I don't recommend booking the Penthouse for the price it wasn't worth it. Older properties need maintanance in order to keep their charm.

Room Tip: Half of our group stayed at the Upham and liked it very much. The other half stayed across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great stay at the Upham while in town for a friend's wedding. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was bright, clean, and comfortable, and the location is great -- quiet but close enough to downtown for a good stroll. Louie's Restaurant is also just fabulous. And Oreo's and milk at night? Fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for one near the Gazebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upham Hotel & Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.