We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's birthday weekend in Santa Barbara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Save Saved
You added The Upham Hotel & Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10-25% Off Room Rate
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Girl's birthday weekend in Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Country Inn owned by the Upham is where 4 of us stayed. Two of us booked the Penthouse to have more room. It was $475 per night, and we got it discounted at $425. I still felt it was very overpriced and not a good value. We were not able to control our temperature in the room and the main sitting area in the general living room downstairs was cold too.

The Innkeeper was wonderful and cooked us fantastic hot breakfast, wine and appetizers in the afternoon were great and nice freshly baked cookies and breakfast breads. I don't recommend booking the Penthouse for the price it wasn't worth it. Older properties need maintanance in order to keep their charm.

Room Tip: Half of our group stayed at the Upham and liked it very much. The other half stayed across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    103
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
29
191
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great stay at the Upham while in town for a friend's wedding. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was bright, clean, and comfortable, and the location is great -- quiet but close enough to downtown for a good stroll. Louie's Restaurant is also just fabulous. And Oreo's and milk at night? Fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for one near the Gazebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our neighbors told us about their great experiences at the Upham. We loved the special during the work week for $165! You can't beat the price for 2 blocks from State Street in a charming hotel! We had friends in town that weren't staying at the Upham and the Upham didn't have a problem with our friends joining us for wine, cheese and crackers on the porch in the late afternoon. Our room was nice, quiet, and the two queen beds were comfortable. The breakfast they serve in the morning was great and saved us from having to pay for breakfast somewhere and saved time for more shopping!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We chose this Hotel to get away from the corporate chains and a desire for some old world charm.
The Upham did not let us down. Beautiful gardens, spacious rooms, lovely lounge area with fire place where breakfast is served from 7 till 11am and drinks and nibbles from 4 till 7pm.
Just 2 blocks walk to famous State street was another bonus. Our only negative is that the room we had no 32 needed updating, TV still the old big box and the furnishings whilst comfortable is tired. We would go back just the same as we noted they were updating the rooms progressively with one section closed while in that process.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A comfy, quiet, quaint and charming place to lodge. Room 50 was spacious and clean with a nice table, chair, oversized sofa chair, and armoire with a TV inside. Loved the large closet with two sides to hang clothes. Bathrobes were provided, and glad I did not have to pack one. Bathroom was small but good enough for one person at a time, good shower power and hot water stayed hot. The heater kept us nice and warm with the arctic cold weather. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well. I only wish there was a coffee maker in the room rather than go out to the main house to get the comp beverage and snack offerings.
We ate dinner at the on site Louie's, and had a delicious rack of lamb, salad, and complimentary dessert. My roommate enjoyed her blacken halibut that was one of the special entrees.
Our days were full and long, and did not have the time to enjoy the lovely garden patio area.
The comp breakfast had all the foods that I would eat, especially the cooked hot oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins, yogurt, grapefruit, OJ, and hot tea.
Service was friendly and accommodating from the staff at both the hotel and restaurant. Hotel is only two blocks from State Street which is the main downtown thoroughfare and close to the Santa Barbara Museum. Definitely a hotel to return to on the next visit to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Room 50 is very nice and large with 2 queen beds, in a separate bldg in the back with 2 units, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've stayed at the Upham since 1983 when visiting Santa Barbara. It is within walking distance to Downey's, one of the best restaurants in California, and Louie's, a very good place for lunch, is housed in the main building of the Upham.
We love this well kept older hotel and its friendly staff.There is breakfast included, wine and crackers in the afternoon, and even oreo cookies and milk in the evening. The guests are frequently international travelers and business people attending seminars. It's a pleasant and interesting place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The Upham Hotel was the first hotel in Santa Barbara. It has been updated with all modern conveniences but still has the charm and ambiance of an historic building. There is a nice patio and garden to spend time on a nice day. Louie's is the restaurant on site and serves fabulous food. Our room was the smallest and cheapest but we loved it. We had our own small patio and private entrance. The room was small but very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. There was a simple but filling continental breakfast and lovely sitting areas to eat in. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upham Hotel & Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.