We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it, but know what you are getting in to.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Upham Hotel & Country House to your Saves list
The Upham Hotel & Country House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10-25% Off Room Rate
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We love it, but know what you are getting in to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Upham is the perfect getaway for the weekend. It is a great B&B and it was built in the 1870s. This is all about expectations. 1870s means, small rooms, small bathrooms, etc. However, if you know this going in you can have a wonderful time. The grounds are nice for relaxing and the breakfast buffet is much better than average.

It is a short 2 block walk to state street and the best part about the entire place is Louie's is in the hotel itself which is my favorite restaurant in Southern California.

Because of the location and the restaurant, we just park are car and do not get back in it until we check out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    113
    41
    19
    9
See reviews for
37
216
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went all out for my wifes birthday and stayed in the penthouse for 3 nights over the weekend. Had the whole top floor to ourselves. The breakfast was amazing and delivered to our door. The most comfortable bed. Slept with all the doors and windows open. Patio just outside the bedroom was a great outdoor living area to hang out, day or night! It was a wonderful non-commercial down home getaway. 2 blocks from State Street, where all the shops are located. Would recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Penthouse for a romantic get-a-way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

After a 4 hour drive from palm springs through traffic clogged LA, this Inn is blissful. We love the old Victorian look with modern feel and care taken. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The wine in the garden in the afternoon and evening is a nice touch as well as the breakfast. We were only on a stopover through to San Fran but now will return to the Upham for a proper visit next year. The restaurant attached to the Inn, Louies, prepared one of the best tasting and presented dinners myself and my wife have ever had. I know Santa Barbara is known for great restaurants but Im not going any further than Louies next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a lovely hotel with a very good in house restaurant. Bed was great, room lovely, big and clean.
Our only problem was the in room cooling which was very noisy even on low. Fortunately the weather was cool overnight and we were able to turn it off to sleep.
Location was good for the shops but a long walk from the pier. There is however a good 50c shuttle bus to the beach from shops near the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September. The staff were very friendly and helpful but found the hotel slightly dated, especially the bathrooms. The hotel is in a good location for the towns shops and restaurant but the beach and pier and almost an hours walk. My husband was slightly disappointed with the breakfast selection as there is no cooked options offered.
Overall a pleasant experience but would elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my second stay at the Upham. We used to stay down on the waterfront and were always in the fog/marine layer until mid afternoon, and needed to walk under the railway to get to the nice part of State Street. The Upham location is much better and quieter. It has great access to many great restaurants. It also has a nice grassy courtyard with Adirondack chairs for enjoying the outdoors in a private setting. The manager/owner, Jan, greets you like an old friend. Our first stay was in the Rose Cottage with a nice King room with a period footed tub. This past stay was in a smaller room, so we simply used the courtyard more. Louis's Restaurant on site is always good. The breakfast buffet included is very nice. If you have the chance read the paperback history of the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Upham is a beautiful retreat in SB. It's rooms are lovely, quaint. Its got gardens, and the continental breakfast is refreshing! Highly recommended. Its just a few blocks from the main street. I am always a big fan of B&B's and Upham ranks highly on our list so far...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upham Hotel & Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.