We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Save Saved
You added The Upham Hotel & Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10-25% Off Room Rate
Ranked #15 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Monica
1 review
“Best Stay in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Arin L.

Santa Monica, CA
5/11/2011 I stayed at the Upham Hotel last December with my boyfriend for his birthday weekend. It was our first time staying at the historical hotel and were very impressed! The lobby was warm and welcoming with a fireplace fire lit, holiday decorations and complementary beverages / small bites. We enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire before checking into our room and visited with some of the other guest passing through. The hotel grounds are beautiful with lush landscaping and many quaint places to sit and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Our room was very cozy, complete with a fireplace and wonderful linens.

I enjoyed a morning walk/jog to the nearby Marina. The complimentary breakfast offered at the Upham was also impressive. Our stay was short and sweet but we are looking forward to returning to the Upham soon. Hands down the best stay we have had in Santa Barbara. Wonderful service and a warm and welcoming staff!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    106
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
33
203
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stumbled upon the Upham during a last-minute trip to Santa Barbara ... during Spring Break. The first hotels we called were full (fortunately) and we were so happy to find The Upham! I knew the minute I made my reservation that we were in for a treat. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is lovely, the grounds are gorgeous. Happy hour was a nice bonus (aside from the cheese lump - please pass!) and the breakfast was substantial. It was a quaint, lovely, quiet alternative to most lodging options. Be sure to have a glass of wine in the garden at sunset. It is beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I were on a road trip and after a disappointing view of a B&B he found the Upam Hotel on trip advisor. It is a classic hotel with real people that care running the place. Fred was very kind and showed us a wonderful cottage room that felt just like old England looking out on to the beautiful rose garden. It was very quiet night and the other guests were in sync with the peaceful atmosphere. If you want to party and be noisy this is not for you. In the morning we ate breakfast outside with the most darling children and their parents from England. Blue Jays came to visit us in the pink camillia tree. Only moments from great shopping on State Street.Do not miss dining the restaurant in the hotel where I had the best meatloaf ( steak loaf) that I have ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011 via mobile

Awesome experience. Stayed at The Country House, a Victorian home that was built in the late 1800's and is now a part of the Upham. The lady downstairs is like a Grandma. She greets you warmly. Makes sure everything is ok with your stay and cooks you breakfast in the home's kitchen. The smell of fresh baked goodies drifts through the air. Pretty gardens and rooms. A step back in time. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Good experience overall. The hotel is perfectly situated if you want to be downtown Santa Barbara. It is about 1.5 miles to the main beach. The room was comfortable and clean however the nights are not very quiet as you can hear people walking, talking and even snoring. Not very pleasant to wake up at 3 in the morning and realize that the person you hear snoring is not next to you in your bed!
Breakfast is self service and there is a limited amount of pasties (muffins, scones) as well as breads that seemed to be either defrosted or day old. Otherwise, juice, coffee, tea and fresh fruits are available all day. In addition there is white wine with crackers and cheese offered in the evening.
We enjoyed the New York Times and Los Angeles Times available daily.
The gardens are beautiful kept and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to the Upham. Last year we were in a lovely quiet Queen room upstairs in the garden building. This year we were in the same building but the room was stifling hot (in April!) despite an overhead fan and room fan. The 2nd night we had to stay in the cozy living room to cool down a bit (this was unusually warm weather for Santa Barbara, but what is this room like in summer?) We were also kept awake until after 1AM by the gentleman in the room next door talking on his cell phone...the walls are very thin. Obviously this was NOT the Upham's fault, but something to remember in choosing rooms.
The service is wonderful and professional. The breakfast is delightful and we appreciate the long hours as well as the afternoon wine (but please get rid of that cheesy cheese ball! as the only appetizer!). One of our favorite items is the peaceful beautiful garden, the perfect place to sit and read!
Louie's restaurant is excellent, we dined here 2 of our 3 nights...service is wonderful. We also love the location. Close enough for walking to shops and a wide variety of wonderful restaurants, but far enough from the bustle of town.
Despite a few 'niggles' we will be back again (especially now that we have scouted out which rooms are most quiet and cool!)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at the Upham. The service was impeccable, the gardens were gorgeous, the food and beverages, available all day, were wonderful and included in our stay, the lobby was a dream, and our room was private and lovely and quaint. They even have parking on-site, which is so helpful in Santa Barbara. They really made us feel special and accommodated all our needs. It was also walking distance to downtown State Street, so we hardly needed a car at all.

Room Tip: Try to book a Sunday through Thursday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upham Hotel & Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.