We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Simpson House Inn to your Saves list
Simpson House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 East Arrellaga Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We only stayed here for 1 night in the Greenwich Cottage which was lovely. The gardens were very beautiful and the main house itself gorgeous. There was wine and afternoon supper which was so good we didnt need to go out for dinner. The breakfast the next morning was rather disappointing. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years and this was by far the most expensive, but def not the best. I think that it was way too much money for what you got. It was lovely, dont get me wrong, but not lovely enough for nearly $600 a night..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    26
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
213
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale,, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at this beautiful Inn in Santa Barbara. It's a little sanctuary nestled right off State Street in a quiet neighborhood~ close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. The grounds are beautifully kept with English type gardens and chairs to relax to enjoy the surroundings. The rooms are tastefully furnished with a warm appeal and the breakfasts quite yummy. You won't be disappointed if you decide to visit ~ this is an upscale Inn and may not be in everyone's budget but worth checking out as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

A lovely inn with beautifully manicured, private grounds that are like an oasis and sanctuary in the middle of Santa Barbara. Sumptuous breakfasts and yummy appetizers are served. Most of all, we were very appreciative of the superlative service of the warm and friendly staff! Thank you, Gillean!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Fellow travelers, every other review you read here is true. The Simpson House is amazing, & we've stayed there several times. However, this last time we stayed in the Katherine McCormack room... which is directly over the kitchen, facing the parking lot. If you are a light sleeper, expect to be awakened by 6AM when they start making breakfast. And unfortunately, you can't take a nap later, because they're preparing for the wine & cheese hour. Also, if anyone drives in late or leaves early in the parking lot, you'll know about it. I do love this place, but I wish I had known this before we stayed in this particular room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very nice inn - mix of B&B look w more of a professional management style -- i.e. all the charm of a b&b without all the over-personal interaction with b&b owners/other guests.

Lovely rooms, lovely balconies, super duper comfortable beds, yummy meals - breakfast and afternoon tea. The meals are all vegetarian, but they are so fabulous I never would have realized it if it hadn't been pointed out to me.

Location is nice - walking distance to State Street/main drag area. But if you want to be on the beach, you probably are a little far away. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

In terms of ambiance, service, pace and courtesy, the Simpson House is like a trip back in time. Unparalleled attention to the most minute detail. The breakfast is better than any in town and the evening vino & cheese gathering is worth the trip in an of itself.

Gillean and crew are a breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: If it is in your budget, ask for one of the cottages. If not, ask for the Simpson room with the wrap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I have never been more "pampered" than by the wonderful staff at the Simpson House. From our beautiful well appointed room, to the delicious gourmet breakfasts, afternoon tea, fresh baked scones and cookies, to the wine tasting and great appetizers....we could not be more impressed...!! Everything was so personalized and the attention to detail was amazing. The incredible grounds that this house surrounds itself with are amazing....Cannot wait to come back..!!! We would rate this a " must stay" if you are ever in the Santa Barbara area.....Well worth every penny...!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We loved the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 East Arrellaga Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpson House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.