We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog walk and good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Burro County Beach Park

Arroyo Burro County Beach Park
2981 Cliff Drive, Santa Barbara, CA
805-687-3714
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 57 Attractions in Santa Barbara
Type: Beaches, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Dining, Watching sunrise/sunset, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The locals call it Hendry's Beach, a place to meet for breakfast or a cocktail at sunset, stroll or jog the sandy shore, watch for whales, fish or ride the wild surf.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Dog walk and good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best off-leash places around. Added bonus is the Boathouse restaurant for a drink or more, with a terrific view.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent beach for your dog!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

i've never seen so many dogs on a beach in my life - what a dog's paradise! Visited on a beautiful October sunday afternoon on a visit to the SB area. Parking was rough, we had to park in the neighborhood just outside the park and we certainly weren't the only ones who parked here! Poor neighbors! Only other complaint was that, as the dogs are running free, sometimes they do their business and owners don't clean it. Usually it washed away but in the wet sand that piles up, you really need to watch your step!!! I couldn't imagine coming here without your dog to relax or lounge around, or coming here if you're not a dog person, but if you are a dog owner coming with your dog, you can't beat this place! our dog wore out pretty quickly (it was her first time at the beach) but Arroyo Burro was a great first experience and hope i find some place like it back in the L.A. area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Loved this beach! It must have been all the dogs having so much fun. One side for on-lease, the other for off-leash. Restroom facilities, dog showers. Nice walk.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wear your Flip flops & be happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great beach. However, wear your flip flops to avoid getting tar all on the soles of your feet. yeah, you heard me right. Those oil rigs in the horizon are not mirages. Other than that, this is a great beach and the one we always go to when in SB. Take a right and head to the dog on a leash beach or take a left and head over to free pooches area.
The parking can get pretty hard so you might be better off parking in the neighborhood nearby if you arrive after 11:30am. There is a popular restaurant (OK) on site, restrooms, outside showers to wear off that sand and try to get the tar off your feet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Place to Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Take your dog on a leash with a poop bag and enjoy the beautiful view of sand, water and hillside. If you are lucky you will see dolphins and seals, always pelicans.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arroyo Burro County Beach Park also viewed

 
 

Been to Arroyo Burro County Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Burro County Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.