We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went to Mass here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mission Santa Barbara

Old Mission Santa Barbara
2201 Laguna Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
805-682-4713
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Old Mission Santa Barbara like an insider
Top Rated
$159*
and up
Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this historic Franciscan mission that features twin bell towers and lovely gardens.
Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Went to Mass here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a beautiful old mission. When we visited Santa Barbara this summer we went to Sunday Mass here and what a treat it was. The priests are very friendly. The atmosphere of the church during Mass was so special and beautiful. Would love to spend more time here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    365
    103
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This Mission is a gem among the many along the California coast. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. A short movie is offered which has valuable information about the property and the friars and indians who built this Mission.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Would've loved to enjoy the church longer on a non-Sunday morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I came with my family on a holiday weekend morning. $6 for adult tour fee and $5 for senior fee. The tour itself I found a bit underwhelming, but my mom and I were drawn to the singing choir and music coming from the church. Turns out mass was being held--of course, Sunday morning! The church drew many people, and ushers were very polite and welcoming to invite my family to join. We didn't stay long after my Catholic mother had communion, but I would've loved to sit longer in the pews if there weren't so many people around. It's a shame I couldn't get any photos in the church too. Photos in front of the mission were unfortunately obstructed by cars from church attendees too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot steeped in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Check out the church on a Sunday morning to see a beautiful full service without the cost of a tour. The gardens are pretty photo ops.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very interesting and informative. A wonderful experience worth taking a side trip to. Church was beautiful. Grounds immaculate

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mission Santa Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Old Mission Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mission Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.