We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mission” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mission Santa Barbara

Old Mission Santa Barbara
2201 Laguna Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
805-682-4713
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Santa Barbara Electric Bike Tour
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Missions, History Museums, Gardens, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this historic Franciscan mission that features twin bell towers and lovely gardens.
Southern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If your interested in Mission history this place to go. We visited for my daughter's mission project. Great, informative tour and beautiful grounds.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    303
    88
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful fig tree in the cemetery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We did the self guided tour. Beautiful church and grounds. Very interesting history. The huge fig tree in the cemetery is amazing! I liked the section on the arts, crafts, and work that went into building the mission and in sustaining the people.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Classic Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A wonderful old mission in very good condition and still actively used today. Also has a wonderful museum and grounds, rose garden, and monastery. The community holds special events on the steps and plaza in front a various times of year.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must see landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I take all my visitors there for a look at a really beautiful Mission. The grounds and the sanctuary and just lovely and it is especially nice to go to a service there. Several festivals are held there during the year and well worth going to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We took a lot of pictures by the fountain and in front of the abbey.

Did not do the museum tour, since we've been to other missions.

Good parking and fun and easy place to visit.l

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mission Santa Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Old Mission Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mission Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.