We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History

Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History
2559 Puesta del Sol Road, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
805-682-4711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 146 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Lakewood, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My calling the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History "little" might not be fair. My prior experience with a natural history museum is the one in NYC which is huge. The Santa Barbara museum is really a nice size - you are able to see all of the exhibits during one visit. The exhibits are quite nice and interesting. There are enough "hands on" exhibits to keep children interested. During our visit, there were quite a few children who seemed to be enjoying themselves. It is located not too far from the Botanic Garden, so you can create a museum/garden experience that is not too taxing. Remember to bring a picnic lunch and enjoy the beautiful Santa Barbara weather.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chino
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“natural history museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I wish i had known of their beautiful out doors areas,, i would have packed us a picnic lunch.. i could have spent hours just lounging outside. the museum exihibits are top notch. and there is a planitarium as well.. you cant beat this !! you MUST GO !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,ND
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic side trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This museum will be a winner from little ones to adults. Loved the planetarium show, Chumash Indian exhibit plus the garden walk are. All exhibits were well done. A definite stop

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I loved this museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I loved this musuem and the atmosphere. I recommend this museum to anyone, as it is clean, informative and one of the best. Thank you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This museum is beautiful. It is small and always has interesting, if not very special exhibits. Don't miss this. Can do this on same day as you do the Botanical Gardens. Plan on 1-2 hours to see it all. You will pass the Santa Barbara Cathedral as you make your way up there. This is another place to stop and take a look!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.