We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer Motel 6's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1717 E Dyer Rd, Santa Ana, CA 92705 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Santa Ana
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the nicer Motel 6's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I travel a lot for business, and I usually like to stay at Motel 6 due to being on a budget. Some are nicer than others. This Motel 6 near the John Wayne airport is convient to the airport, the freeway, and may businesses in Santa Ana and Irvine. There is sufficient and safe parking, and the desk staff have been friendly and efficient. I usually like to stay in a room nearer the lobby, and this motel has always accomodated me over the last few years that I have been there. The rooms are clean and well maintained, and there is always coffee in the morning across from the lobby desk.

Room Tip: GPS does not seem to like to provide good directions coming off the fwy. Recommend Map Quest prior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    7
    5
    13
See reviews for
4
4
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This motel6 was obviously built as some other chain. The place has 70's design and decor all over it and the rooms are bigger and a little fancier than a standard motel 6.

I stayed in a second floor room that actually had a sliding glass door and a balcony.

The only thing I would wish for is to have modern flat screen TV's so i can plug my computer in and stream netflix

The location is near two freeways and there is some construction noise but it was not bad.

Parking is ample and easy to get into. There are several restaurant and small stores nearby.

I think the second story rooms would be difficult for somebody in a wheelchair because the elevator comes up to a floor that is about 1.5 feet higher than the hallways that you reach by a set of 3 stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here for a week - (made reservations from elsewhere for the week, and was told after arrival NO REFUNDS). First room they showed me smelled bad- and I complained to the front desk, who (promptly) moved me to a better room down another hall. Bed was adequate but not really comfortable, shower temps were good though, lighting ok, noise outside window is next to either a noisy freeway or a gas station where people drive in late at night and lean on their horn just to be irritating to the motel guests.

PRO's - front desk was usually courteous. Though I noted not to everyone- there were two times they were arguing with other travellers about promised room rates that were higher then stated.). lights ok, shower hot, tv worked ok.

CONS: Hookers hanging around the front entrance and inside the spacious lobby and monopolizing the $10 for 10 minutes internet connection (that broke three times while I was there) it's slow also-. No Refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms , (every other motel in town has them), rooms were smelly and you actually have to ASK for a clean one, there was a really rude dude in a wheelchair who regularly blocked the front entrance doors and tried to pick arguments if you asked him to move out of the way. Other Cons: At the freeway entrance three times saw a guy with an empty gas can and a sign claiming he needed money for gas- and was "broke" and "homeless" - on my last night there saw the same guy coming out of a second floor room to the stairs- carrying the gas can with him- he got in a new BMW and drive off with two women! Homeless Con Man!

I would never recommend this Motel 6 to anyone even for 1 night. There is a very decent Comfort Inn on Hotel Terrace Drive and 3 other good motels just a block away or so on the other side of the freeway - which cost very little more and are definitely better!

Room Tip: Tell them you want a CLEAN room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Make sure you check out by noon. Management and housekeeping will harrass you and really don't like late check-outs. No appreciation for regular guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

It is a large motel. It has comfortable beds. It is a clean motel. It has jacuzzi & pool which makes it more enjoyable. It's close to food and freeway. It takes pets. We stay there when ever we're on that side of town.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I work in AZ and when I have to go to those boring meetings in orange county, this is the place were you would see me. Although there is no breakfest in the morning, I can't complain for the good price. The staff was wonderfull. I felt like home. I have to give much props to javier who is one of the staff members there. He would do his darn best to make you happy and comfterable. They also have a pool and spa which is a plus. Especially for those tough days.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Everything would've been okay except there was blood splatter on the wall!!!!!!!!!!!!! Did someone die in the room? When I told the front desk they didn't seem concerned. Not staying there again nor recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport

Address: 1717 E Dyer Rd, Santa Ana, CA 92705 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Motel 6 Santa Ana
Motel Six Santa Ana
Santa Ana Motel 6
Santa Ana Motel Six
Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.