We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 East Dyer Road, Santa Ana, CA 92705   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overall was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a typical Embassy Suites property/ layout. It is an older property and shows its age in some areas. Our room's pull-out couch needs to be replaced and the elevators seem to be an issue here with either being slow or under repair. As others have stated, there is a somewhat musty smell too- particularly in our room. It was OK after we opened the door to the balcony for awhile to air the room out though. The room itself was clean. The breakfast in the morning is very good although it can be a bit of a zoo at times. The lobby is pretty and the front desk service was fine. We stayed here for the convenience of access to the John Wayne airport and would stay here again for a similar purpose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHild2312, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our two-room suites. As you noticed we were undergoing a renovation during your stay and it is now complete. We believe you will find the changes to our guest suites as well as our newly renovated lobby area and restaurant a refreshing change. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    100
    91
    60
    39
See reviews for
150
52
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were there for a family wedding and hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. The shuttle to the airport and area stores is a real plus. Rooms and breakfast are were typical Embassy Suites, lots of room with the usual amenities. They had quite a few rooms down for maintenance, but there was not noise or odor from this. The staff overall were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was shocking how bad the rooms smelled. Other reasons for my rating of two: Cheesy fitness center with only two treadmills; two washers (one did not work) for the large hotel; broken chair left in the room; replacement chair was just as bad; due to the smell and mold in the room, my clothes smelled; the elevators were often slow and dirty; the business center printers worked when they wanted to; and the manager's reception was a joke. While I appreciated the free drinks, nachos, gold fish and pretzels everyday was disheartening. I will not stay at nor recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHild2312, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your stay hat our hotel. I wanted to let you know that we have recently completed a update to our guest rooms bedding and furniture. The condition of our suites is very important to us as we aim to provide guests with the best accommodations and service. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Sincerely, Pamela Hild, STAES_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancé on March 13 th through 17 th.The room we were put in was terrible the smell disgusting It was damp and the odor got on my chest ( I have a chest infection now) We had to stay in the bedroom with the door wide open to breath and still covered our faces with sheets We asked to be moved but the hotel was full till the next day We didnt sleep all night as the window was open and the street noise very loud Day two they put us in a room that had a leak in the bathroom saturating th bedroom carpet every time we had a shower or bath They gave us a measly voucher for $40 to spend in the restaurant I asked for the first night to be compd thought that was the least they could do but they wouldn't I contacted Hilton but they have not followed up I am now contacting Health and Safety with this as my health is very bad due to this stay

Room Tip: The top two floors have been upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHild2312, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our two-room suites. As you noticed we were undergoing a renovation during your stay and it is now complete. We believe you will find the changes to our guest suites as well as our newly renovated lobby area and restaurant a refreshing change. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was superior to any free breakfast I've enjoyed before. The gym was a joke though, it is not kept up by the staff and it needs a lot of improvement. Wifi isn't convenient. Beds are comfortable, TVs nice. Other than the leak outside my bathroom, it was overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

When we checked in they mentioned renovations were going on. When we entered the room it had a very new smell. It was obvious the carpet had been replaced quite recently. The couch and chair also appeared to be new.

We must have been the first guests in the room after the carpet was replaced, because the room was not ready for guests. There were no TV remote in the room. The TV in the living room would not turn on and the desk was extremely rickety. All the above were reported on separate occasions, as they were discovered and quickly addressed.

Additionally the phone had the wrong room number on it. The drawers on the dresser in the bedroom would not stay closed, and kept sliding open about 6 inches. One of the plastic rings that hold the shower curtain was missing. The rolling desk chair was also very wobbly.

The rooms were spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was quite small, but there is a second sink and the bedroom.

The room was in good shape at a quick glance, but did show some wear, which is not uncommon in any hotel.

There was a sink in the living room, with microwave and mini refrigerator.

The cooked to order breakfast was very good.

The pool area was very nice and included a hot tub. There was a significant amount of water on the floor between the pool and hot tub, and it appeared the drain was not working. This was reported to the front desk, I did not have time to return to the pool, so do not know if it was corrected.

All staff encountered were friendly and professional and knowledgeable.

We saw carpet being replaced on additional floors being renovated with carpet and paint. Not sure how much else is being done to the rooms. More attention needs to be paid to details when re-opening the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHild2312, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel, and we appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you experienced some difficulties during your stay. Guest comfort and safety are our top priorities and we regret you did not experience this. The hotel is currently renovationg all of our guest rooms and the hotel will have a fresh new look by mid summer.. We certainly will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Best regards, Pamela Hild Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North

Address: 1325 East Dyer Road, Santa Ana, CA 92705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among Santa Ana hotels, Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North features comfortable accommodations and a full range of thoughtful amenities. Set just two-and-a-half miles from John Wayne/Orange County Airport, this all-suite hotel is located within easy reach of many Santa Ana, Costa Mesa, Irvine, and Tustin area businesses and corporations. Relax in a two-room suite with a separate living area and enjoy amenities such as two large, flat-screen TVs, a microwave and WiFi access. Host a corporate meeting or special event at this Santa Ana hotel, offering more than 8,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting space for up to 380 guests. Relax while expert event planners take care of the details and enjoy all the support you need for business in the 24-hour BusinessLink™ business center.Start each morning with a free cooked-to-order breakfast and savor complimentary drinks and snacks at the Evening Reception*. Indulge in classic American cuisine and sample delicious signature desserts at the Sweet Spot Sports Bar & Grille. Bathe in this Santa Ana, California hotel's soothing whirlpool or plunge into the heated indoor pool. Re-energize with an invigorating workout in the modern fitness center, get some work done in the fully equipped 24-hour business center, or explore nearby Santa Ana area attractions.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Otel, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North Hotel Santa Ana
Santa Ana Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.