We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Quality Inn across the street!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Santa Ana
Laughlin, Nevada
1 review
“Stay at Quality Inn across the street!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 4/19/15, the night they were resurfacing their entire parking lot. Guests were forced to park on the other side of the freeway in a Motel 6 parking lot with a shuttle to take you back and forth. Of course this type of maintenance needs to be done, but the staff was not at all sympathetic or apologetic about it. The lady who checked me in was completely cold about it. The manager outside was quite belligerent with my boyfriend, who, unaware, had already parked the car. Signs on the lobby door stated that all cars must be off property by10:30 pm and it was only 6 or 6:30. This man insisted that we could not unload the car and move our luggage to our room. We must follow the shuttle driver, transfer out luggage to his van, then bring it all back to the hotel. All of this would have been merely a minor inconvenience if the staff had been more sympathetic. To put the icing on the cake, our room had no rod in the closet area to hang our clothes, there were buckets of something outside our room along with a half jug of water, there was no seal around the door so even when tightly closed light, air, bugs, or whatever had free access, and the Jacuzzi had a tower of foam in the center of it almost a foot tall... not very inviting. We were very disappointed and do not plan to ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel...read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We stayed at this facility in March of 2015. It is comparatively cheap but even for a Comfort Inn facility it is very weary. The room was marginal at best. The bathroom and bathtub were chipped, spotty, not well cleaned. Walls were stained and dirty throughout. Overall, the entire place is in serious need of an overhaul. The beds were like being on a waterbed but some like that I am sure. I never saw a no smoking sign and smoke certainly wafted to our 3rd story room. The breakfast was the standard breakfast that most of these places have. However, there was no coffee until we asked someone to replace the empty container. The remainder of the "breakfast" was the usual cardboardy, mass produced fare. That is to be expected and not unusual but seemed just a bit worse here. There is basically no place inside to eat. Just a couple tables. Fortunately the outside weather was nice and we were good with that. In bad weather I am not sure what could be done.

Overall, yes, you get what you pay for but this was by far the most worn out Comfort Inn we have ever stayed in. Next time, and there will be many more times to come, we will need to go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I am only giving this hotel one star because that is what is required as minimum. I read some of the reviews after the stay and this place needs way more than updating. The stay began with coming back from dinner and having someone doing drugs in one corner of the back parking lot and someone else urinating in another. The gentlemen urinating in the parking lot got in his white van after we exited our car and watched us very closely until we were out of site. Im not 100% sure of what happened after that, but my husband went outside to get something he left in the car and low and behold someone had hit the back of my car and the paint on it was...what...white. I of course went through the entire parking lot looking at every white car looking for my silver car paint on it and found nothing so we can only speculate. We had a reservation for 2 nights, didnt really want to stay this night but it was already 10 at night. The cherry topper in the morning was bugs in the bathroom, oh man, I dont even want my mind to go through what could have been lurking in the night, and lets not forget about the stains on the couch mattress. I went to the front desk, which is where breakfast also was being served and I was very quiet about my situation, let the young lady know what had happened and was happening and that I would not be staying my second night. I was only asking to be reimbursed for the night I was not going to stay and well you know she couldnt help me and the manager wouldnt be in til noon. We had Mickey to visit so we packed up and left the room I was not going to stay there another moment!!! After calling at noon from the park I was told the manager would not be in til 3 OMG how do you run a business with no one that can make decisions. The only positive thing out of that 24 hours was that andre (manager) was kind enough to phone us back and refund out one night. This place is awful on every level.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Room was clean, but the bathroom needed renovating badly. Sink plug didn't work so water drained slowly out of sink, tub is badly chipped, toilet stained. Free WiFi was usually not working. Made looking things up on the laptop for apartment hunting very tough. I was constantly calling the desk letting them know when the WiFi was out, sometimes they reset the router, other times they did not.

Room Tip: Yes on ADVERTISED free wifi, don't depend on it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

This hotel's rooms need
some updating. We had a quiet room on the back. Staff was very pleasant. Breakfast was better than continental. Pool was really clean and warm and they kept towels out all the time. Location was great.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Hotel has problems:
1) They use a credit card imprinter to store credit card number
2) Person who check us in looked unprofessional to say the least (button up shirt with a graphic representation of a tie printed in it and a faux fur collared leather jacket)
3) Rooms not maintained well:
A) Window frame separating from glass, all of the furniture was dented and chipped
B) AC unit was seperating from the wall, enough to see outside and place a small hand through.
C) Burnt out light bulb in the bathroom and the mirror was not even mounted to the wall level.
D) Trash was outside the window on a 2 floor room
E) Improper electrical box covers
F) Vent hole for the shower was too large for the vent

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Stayed here evening of 5 feb. Very good hotel. Plenty of free parking , and elevators to higher floors . Clean well appointed room. Free wifi and good quality breakfast with seating in the lobby area. . Good beds and friendly staff. Recommended

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA800, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us. I'm thrilled that your experience was such an excellent one! I'm also pleased to say that as good as your stay was this time around, it will be even better in the future. Our new ownership has many renovation projects planned to be completed over the next few months which will make our property as a whole an even better experience for all our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Andre Neuman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Address: 2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Comfort Inn Santa Ana
Comfort Suites Santa Ana
Santa Ana Comfort Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.