We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the theme park noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Santa Ana
Bonney Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Away from the theme park noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We try to stay in the Hotel Terrace properties when we visit the Disney parks. It's only a 10-15 minute drive to the parks, and we get more for our money (we are not paying for convenient proximity to Disneyland).
When we book a Choice hotel, we try to stick with Comfort Inns or Quality Inns because our track record has been pretty good with them (NO Rodeway Inns - good for another story another time).

This room was OK, nothing terribly exciting. The door did not seal well (we could see daylight passing through the door seal), enough that our final bill was slipped through the door ABOVE the doorknob!

The king bed was comfy, and the bathroom was large, facilitating one oddity: the mini-fridge and the microwave were INSIDE the bathroom. I find it kind of strange (add yuck factor here) to store or cook food in that environment.

I could stay here again, but it has moved farther down my list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    32
    19
    17
See reviews for
28
32
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as a family with small children. We booked it because of the free breakfast, parking, and the pool and hot tub. Also the king suite was a good option for us because of the double sofa bed. With all these we were looking forward to a nice family getaway. We were disappointed however upon first entering the room. What we noticed first was the strong smell of cigarette smoke. Second, was the remarkably tiny boxy television set. When I called the front desk to ask for a room with a larger TV set I was told that all the rooms had the same sized TV---that had to be a lie because how can you be a hotel in this century and have a TV like that?? We would have been better off watching our laptop computer. The picture quality was so poor we could not read the sports scores or news updates, etc. Granted, we don't travel so we can stay in our hotel room and watch TV all day but at the end of the day we do like to relax with some tV... and this sure didn't make it feel like a vacation.
By the second day we no longer smelled the smoke and that was a welcome relief.
Breakfast was decent w/make your own waffles and some egg and meat-like products, yogurt, fruit, cereal. The pool looked nice but was too cold to swim in for long. We were grateful for the hot tub. However, it had a lot of floating debris--which I convinced myself was from the overhead trees so as not to be too disgusted. Overall, the cons are what we remember most about our hotel so no, we will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask what sized TV will be in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA800, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Lauracello-
Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with your feedback. We are truly sorry that the room had an odor in it. We do promote and support a smoke free environment and have a designated smoking area in the main parking lot. As for the TV's, I can assure you, Your guest room had the same TV as the other rooms in the hotel. We are excited that we will be getting new 32" Flat Panel HD TV's by the end of the year. Our hotel has recently installed the HD cable in each room and now we are just waiting for the TV's to arrive and be installed at the end of the year. We hope to see you again when our new TV's have arrived and installed.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

With the AAA discount this place was only 62.50 for one. It's clean, well maintained, comfortable. My room had a couch, desk, Wifi, microwave, fridge. Although it's next to the airport, flights are infrequent and I don't think they have any flights during the night. It's a very attractive place with pool, etc. Good breakfast, sit outside by the pool. I'm trying hard to think of any negatives - one lightbulb was out, one shower curtain ring was broken but still worked. I guess that's it. It was just a great value for a quick one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Jay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Hotel, has a nice staff and the breakfast is excellent In the heart of Orange County. I also had a great time ordered off their in house menu, which is a local Italian food, that delivers to all the Hotels in the area.

Room Tip: I like all the rooms, but around the pool is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is the 3rd year we stayed here. It is close to John Wayne airport with a free
shuttle. The rooms & beds are comfortable & clean. Breakfast is included -
waffles, fruit & the usual breakfast food. All the clerks were friendly & accommodated & remedied any problems that had to be adjusted. The outside pool is heated to 80 & the outside area around the pool is very attractive. They even have an outside barbecue grill for guests to use.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool were quiet & attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Its an older property. More like a motel feeling (enter on outside off sidewalk) and it has 3 floors. Room was pretty small, bathroom was ok......it needed some attention, but fairly clean. Free parking is nice. The free breakfast was OK, nothing special......make your own waffles, microwaved eggs and sausage, cereal, juice and coffee.
If you don't expect much, you will be fine staying there. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. For the price in the area it was nice. It even had a couch with a fold out. The day staff was helpful and friendly, the man that worked at night was courteous as well but the lady was not friendly at all. Even though we didnt us it, they have a great option to get food oredered in. A lot of options on the menu. I would reccomend this hotel to visitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Address: 2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Comfort Inn Santa Ana
Comfort Suites Santa Ana
Santa Ana Comfort Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.