We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Suites, Front Staff slow to answer operator calls, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Santa Ana
OTTAWA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mini Suites, Front Staff slow to answer operator calls, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

mini suite type
nice bed
clean
neat staff fast
sometimes they do not answer the phone and it rings and rings at front desk
yes it looks dated
but good value
quiet location away from Hwy 55 but almost right at the DYER road entrance so convenient to get to, and is 7min from Santa Ana Airport (John Wayne SNA)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    32
    19
    17
See reviews for
28
32
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We got a good rate at this hotel at Christmas time. I know why now. It is in desperate need of renovation. The rooms are old (but clean). We felt like we were back in time. The staff was very friendly so if they redo the rooms I may stay there again. But for now It will be elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for Disneyland, The location was not bad, only 10 miles away(mostly highway I-5). They let us early check-in at 1pm without any problem. Our room was on top floor overlooking the pool and spa area. It was spacious and clean with a king size bed and a sitting area with a sofabed. Bathroom has an odd shape with odd shape marble top vanity but good size as well. Parking space was small and our rental car was Nissan Altima so took us a while to find a spot. We didn't use the pool and spa during our stay but that area looked nice. Indoor breakfast area was small but there were plenty of outdoor tables and chairs right next to it. The price we paid was really good that for sure well worth driving 10 miles to Disneyland. We loved the brand new Cars land at Disney California Adventure Park, The line for the newest ride Radiator Springs Racers was really long but worth waiting. If possible go early and go straight to Cars land for that ride in the morning will save you lots of time. (or get FASTPASS but be aware of that FASTPASS tickets for Radiator Springs Racers are distributed not in Cars Land property, but at the entrance of It's Tough to Be A Bug!. Also note that this is the first and the only ride at Disneyland where the end of the return window printed on FASTPASS tickets is being strictly enforced.

Room Tip: Use outside area with lots of tables and chairs for breakfast, many people just didn't see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We need a place close to the Orange County CA airport as our plane left early and didn't want to deal with traffic. Found it on Expeida and got a very good rate. This was what might be called a mini suite. It was a very nice room with a good bed and it was clean. I am most interested in a place that is CLEAN with a comfortable bed, all else is just icing on the cake. This place had what I needed plus a nice breakfast area with the usual items, saved having to go out for it! I would recomend it to any one not looking for a 5 star place and a bill of $500 a night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has a good location. It is in close proximity to the John Wayne Airport and less than 45 minutes away from the LAX airport. Compared with other hotels, this hotel is offering a very competitive rate which is the main reason why we decided to stay here.

For the room, it is reasonably clean and is quite comfy. For the bed, I don't understand why they provide very small pillows which are merely wide enough for your head to fit in. For this reason, I didn't sleep very well. The remote is not working so we have problems turning on the TV. The desk chair is too tall for me but its height cannot be adjusted. For the bathroom, It is disappointing to see that the bath tub is quite dirty and old, so it is only suitable for showering but not bathing. The most problematic thing is that for the bath tub, a blue color is used for HOT tap and a red color is used for COLD tap. My mom almost got burnt by this.

Service is good. The staff is friendly in helping us with check-in / check-out and serving breakfast. They also provided us with parking tips during our check-in. The hotel provides complimentary WiFi, of which the speed is acceptable. However, the connection is kind of unstable and my device often got disconnected automatically. The hotel also provided complimentary breakfast and printing service and that's a big plus. Breakfast is of good quality, with sausages, eggs, fruits and more. It saved us money.

It happened that one of our guest left something in the room and we only realized this after check-out. We called the hotel and asked if we could get back those items, but was told that our items were all thrown away. While it is reasonable to dispose of guests' remained items after check-out, I feel that the hotel should have at least called us before throwing our items away. So we were a bit shocked and disappointed with the hotel for this incident. My mom lost a bottle of doctor-prescribed shampoo and that's unfortunate.

All in all, I think the Comfort Inn is quite an affordable place to stay with good quality of facilities and services. For sure there are rooms for improvement, but given this competitive rate we are likely to come back to this hotel in future trips. Just don't leave anything behind and you will be in good shape.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the "just too small" parking spaces to the too compact breakfast area without enough seating, the hotel is unwilling to allocate space or funds to improve the facility. We stayed a week in a ground floor room near the noisy laundry area that seemed to be in use 24/7. As noted by another reviewer, the room overlooked an ugly vehicle storage lot.
The housekeeping staff have a habit of barging in despite shouts of "not right now!" but they were accomodating and seemed to know when the room was empty, enabling a pleasant "Oh, the bed's been made" when returning. Wifi was fast, but the noisy common areas and the lousy breakfast area, coupled with the $30 charge for a later checkout ensured we won't return.

Room Tip: get the key and check the room first, stay away from the noisy common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I am not a travel snob, and I have stayed at lots of Comfort Inns and Suites. This one was just average. The hotel is tired, and the back of the hotel faces an ugly vehicle storage lot. The back rows of rooms seemed so bleak and abandoned that it felt a little uncomfortable walking to my room. The rooms facing the pool, by contrast, seemed warm and welcoming. Breakfast was sterile, and on the cold, wet day I was there, the lack of indoor seating was very frustrating. A broken elevator the day of my departure iced the cake, because I was NOT in the mood to carry my bags down the stairs. OK; in fairness, the hotel room was cheap, and the weather was not very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the rear (north) of the property!!! Zoom in on Google Earth and you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Address: 2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Comfort Inn Santa Ana
Comfort Suites Santa Ana
Santa Ana Comfort Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.