We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomier and better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Ana
Clearwater
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Roomier and better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I came expecting pretty much a dive. It was better than I expected. It wasn't excellent, but was the cheapest place around. The room was large. Bed was comfortable. It was literally a suite so had a couch and a nice table that I was able to do work on.

Definitely was the best value compared to price that I was able to find around.

Nothing much to complain about. It wasn't the Hilton, but it was a cheap, affordable and pretty spacious room that was comfortable and didn't have any major faults.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    34
    22
    21
See reviews for
31
32
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I did not stay at this hotel long enough to enjoy any of the amenities offered. I checked into a ground-floor room with two beds after midnight, and was immediately offended by the strong smokey smell (not to mention the ancient orangey/brown decor) in the room. This hotel is meant to be non-smoking (and thus, non-smelly), but perhaps the change only happened recently, as the odor of stale cigarette smoke is heavy and undeniable. I got out of there first thing in the morning, and checked in at La Quinta, which would have been lovely except for the cockroaches scuttling through my room in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was uncertain about staying here due to all the reviews, but we had a wonderful experience. The room was large enough and the staff was fantastic (except for the abrupt person at the counter our last morning.) I have never stayed anywhere where staffed worked so hard. I constantly saw workers at all hours doing a great job. It really is more of a motel than hotel, but our room opened onto the pool and patio area so nice to have the courtyard. The hotel even had a brand new gas grill that we used for a cookout. The bed was too soft for my taste and toilet tended to run a little long but that is all the "negatives" I have. I would stay here again with no problem at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

With a perfect location for my business trip, and the courteous friendly staff, I really wanted to like the Comfort Inn & Suites by the airport. Alas, it was not to be.

When this hotel was first built, I bet it was terrific. Unfortunately, it looks as though there have been virtually no upgrades and only bare bones maintenance. Plumbing fixtures are loose and leaky. Fans for the bathroom vent and air conditioner are very noisy. The carpet is dirty, the TV is ancient, the curtain rods are falling off the window...you get the idea.

The breakfast is like most you find in this type of hotel, but they need to learn how to restock the items. Both mornings they ran out of something (juice, waffle syrup etc...) Sorry, but I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a typical comfort inn with exception to outdoor access. I view those as motels instead of hotels. Needs upgraded. Seemed a little dingy to me.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I made the unfortunate mistake of staying longer than 1-2 days at this out-dated establishment. The first day I had to move because the sink backed up from another room. That was only the beginning of my unbearable stay. Once, I was moved to another room where the A/C temperature was uncomfortable at night; the toilet was continually breaking down (I had to lift the lid and manually flush after it was supposedly repaired); and last but certainly not least the hotel began installation construction shortly after I arrived and I was forced to endure jack hammering early in the morning and after business hours in the evening. I was forced to endure because I pre-paid and would lose the payments. I understand that sometimes repairs are necessary; but you would think that I would have been shown the courteous of telling me before I have made payments that could not be refunded. I should have be suspect when I checked in and was told that under no circumstances would I be given a refund if I chose to leave.

My stay was for 22 days and you would think management would have offered some type of apology or partial refund for the torture I was forced to endure. After leaving the hotel I found out that I was charged for an additional day after I departed without my knowledge. You would think that even if I did owe for an additional day they would have given me the day because of the unbearable noise of the construction I had to endure. I was a model customer during my entire stay always treating the staff with respect despite the fact that my comfort was disregarded. SHAME ON YOU FOR YOUR UNPROFESSIONAL AND UNGODLY BEHAVIOR!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA800, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Cyntcoder-
We are very sorry that during your stay with us you experienced excessive noise. I do not know how far in advance you booked your room? But we did update our hotel information as the installation period grew near that during a seven day period, We would be upgrading our TV service to HD. During that seven day period, We were constantly leaving updates posted next to every room informing our guests when the service would be installed , the times the installation would occur, and when a technician would be entering the rooms to verify the new signal. However, after reviewing your comments, We will update our site information as well as ensure our partnership sites are updated with a longer booking window in regards to any Property Improvements scheduled for the hotel. We truly appreciate the time you took to share your concerns with us. We thank you for allowing us to be your host hotel during your stay in Santa Ana.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I usually stay at the Quality Inn Suites right across the street, but when they wouldn't give me a break to stay an extra night I used my Choice Hotels membership points to stay free here at the Comfort Inn. This is a great area, easy access for everything. The hotel, room was very nice, bed was great and the sofa bed was wonderful too! The room was a little dated but clean. They had shampoo, and lotion and ofcourse a hair dryer. The breakfast area is a little small, but the food was good. A/C unit is the standard window unit and not real quite but ok. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport

Address: 2620 Hotel Terrace Dr., Santa Ana, CA 92705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Comfort Inn Santa Ana
Comfort Suites Santa Ana
Santa Ana Comfort Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites John Wayne Airport Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites John Wayne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.